Defect Summary: BMW of North America, LLC (BMW) is recalling certain 2025 Mini Cooper S, Mini Countryman S All4, X2, 2024 Rolls-Royce Spectre, 2023-2025 i7, 7 Series, X7, 2024-2025 i5, 5 Series, 2023-2024 XM, X1, 2024-2025 X6, and X5 vehicles. The integrated brake (IB) system may malfunction and result in a loss of power brake assist or cause the Antilock Brake (ABS) and Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) systems to not function properly.
The 2025 BMW i5 is associated with 6 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,UNKNOWN OR OTHER, accounting for 1 reports (17% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 84 to 105 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 239–295 miles across 9 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 6 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 campaigns
- • Top Reported Defect Area: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,UNKNOWN OR OTHER (1 / 17%)
- • Safety Incident Signals: 2 crash / 0 fire / 2 injury reports
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 84–105 MPGe (9 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 BMW i5?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| i5 eDrive40 Sedan (19 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 104 MPGe | 105 MPGe | 105 MPGe | 295 mi | $700 / yr |
| i5 eDrive40 Sedan (20 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 99 MPGe | 98 MPGe | 99 MPGe | 278 mi | $750 / yr |
| i5 eDrive40 Sedan (21 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 97 MPGe | 94 MPGe | 96 MPGe | 271 mi | $800 / yr |
| i5 xDrive40 Sedan (19 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 92 MPGe | 95 MPGe | 93 MPGe | 266 mi | $800 / yr |
| i5 xDrive40 Sedan (20 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 92 MPGe | 94 MPGe | 93 MPGe | 262 mi | $800 / yr |
| i5 M60 xDrive Sedan (19 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 89 MPGe | 91 MPGe | 90 MPGe | 253 mi | $850 / yr |
| i5 M60 xDrive Sedan (20 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 88 MPGe | 88 MPGe | 88 MPGe | 250 mi | $850 / yr |
| i5 xDrive40 Sedan (21 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 86 MPGe | 87 MPGe | 87 MPGe | 248 mi | $850 / yr |
| i5 M60 xDrive Sedan (21 inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 83 MPGe | 85 MPGe | 84 MPGe | 239 mi | $900 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 BMW i5?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 BMW i5.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 BMW i5 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 BMW i5?
Summary of 6 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2025 BMW i5 problems & component breakdown (6 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 BMW i5?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: BMW of North America (BMW) is recalling certain 2023-2024 X1, 2024-2025 X5, 2025 X6, 2023-2025 X7, 740i, 760i, 2024 XM, 530i, 540i, i7, 750e, X2, 2024-2025 i5, 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre, 2025 MINI Countryman S ALL4, JCW Countryman ALL4, and 2025 MINI Hardtop 2 Door (Cooper, Cooper S) vehicles. Please refer to the recall report for the complete list of models. The welds in the servomotor of the integrated brake control module may break, causing a loss of power brake assist and rear brake function. In addition, the Antilock Brake System (ABS) and Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) system may not function.
Defect Summary: BMW of North America, LLC. (BMW) is recalling certain 2023-2025 BMW, MINI, and Rolls-Royce vehicles. Please see the recall report for a complete list of models and model years. The integrated brake (IB) system may malfunction and result in a loss of power brake assist or cause the Antilock Brake (ABS) and Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) systems to not function properly.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.