Defect Summary: General Motors has decided that certain 2027 Chevrolet Bolt EV, 2025-2026 Cadillac OPTIQ, Chevrolet Colorado, Equinox EV, GMC Canyon, 2026 Buick Enclave, Envision, Cadillac CT5, Escalade, Escalade ESV, Escalade IQ, Escalade IQL, LYRIQ, VISTIQ, Chevrolet Blazer EV, Corvette Convertible, Corvette Coupe, Corvette Convertible E-Ray, Equinox, Silverado 1500, 2500, 3500, Silverado EV, Suburban 1500, Tahoe, Traverse, GMC Acadia, Hummer EV Pickup, Hummer EV SUV, Sierra 1500, 2500, 3500, Sierra EV, Terrain, Yukon, and Yukon XL vehicles. The radio may not have been set to the correct status to download the electronic owner's manual during production. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, “Occupant Protection.”
The 2026 Chevrolet Equinox EV has zero owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA. EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 96 to 108 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 288–319 miles across 3 certified vehicle configurations.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 campaigns
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: 5 / 5 Stars
- • EPA Efficiency: 96–108 MPGe (3 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Chevrolet Equinox EV?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Equinox EV FWD 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 117 MPGe | 100 MPGe | 108 MPGe | 319 mi | $700 / yr |
| Equinox EV AWD (11 kW Charger) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 112 MPGe | 95 MPGe | 103 MPGe | 307 mi | $750 / yr |
| Equinox EV AWD (19 kW Charger) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 103 MPGe | 88 MPGe | 96 MPGe | 288 mi | $800 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Chevrolet Equinox EV?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Chevrolet Equinox EV.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Chevrolet Equinox EV models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Chevrolet Equinox EV?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 Chevrolet Equinox EV problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Chevrolet Equinox EV?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: General Motors, LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2025-2026 Equinox EV vehicles. The pedestrian alert sound system may not produce a sufficient change in volume between the vehicle being stopped and moving at low speeds. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 141, "Minimum Sound Requirements for Hybrid and Electric Vehicles."
Defect Summary: General Motors, LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2025-2026 Cadillac Optic and 2025-2026 Chevrolet Equinox EV vehicles equipped with 21-inch Continental all-season tires. One or more of these tires may experience partial or full tread detachment.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.