Defect Summary: General Motors, LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2003-2023 Chevrolet Express Cutaway and GMC Savana Cutaway incomplete vehicles equipped with wiring for an optional rear heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning (HVAC) system. When the HVAC blower motor circuit is left unused with exposed connectors and wiring, the circuit can corrode and overheat.
The 2017 GMC Savana has zero owner defect complaints and 6 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA. EPA testing covers 2 certified vehicle configurations spanning 6l 8-cyl powertrain configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 12 to 13 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 6 campaigns
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 12–13 MPG (2 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2017 GMC Savana?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Savana 2500 2WD (Passenger) | 6L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 6-spd | 11 MPG | 16 MPG | 13 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| Savana 3500 2WD (Passenger) | 6L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 6-spd | 11 MPG | 16 MPG | 12 MPG | — | $5,100 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2017 GMC Savana?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2017 GMC Savana.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2017 GMC Savana models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2017 GMC Savana?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2017 GMC Savana problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2017 GMC Savana?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Unicell Body Company Inc. (Unicell) is recalling certain 2017-2019 Chevrolet Express and GMC Savanna, 2018-2019 Hino 155, Ford Econoline and Transit and Isuzu NPR, and 2018 Ram ProMaster-based vehicles equipped with ASA Electronics Voyager monitors used to display the back-up camera image. The affected monitors may revert back to the factory default settings which may cause the camera image to be reversed.
Defect Summary: General Motors LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2016-2019 Chevrolet Express and GMC Savana vehicles. One or both of the rear-quarter windows may be tempered glass instead of laminated glass. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 226, "Ejection Mitigation."
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.