Defect Summary: General Motors, LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2026 Cadillac Escalade and Escalade ESV, Chevrolet Silverado 1500, Suburban, and Tahoe, and GMC Sierra 1500, Yukon, and Yukon XL vehicles with four-wheel (4WD) or all-wheel drive (AWD), and certain 2015-2020 Suburban, Escalade, Escalade ESV, Yukon, Yukon XL, and Tahoe vehicles. A component missing from the drivetrain transfer case may cause the front and/or rear wheels to lock up without warning to the driver.
The 2026 GMC Yukon XL has zero owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA. EPA testing covers 6 certified vehicle configurations spanning 3l 6-cyl, 5.3l 8-cyl, and 6.2l 8-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 16 to 23 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 campaigns
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 16–23 MPG (6 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 GMC Yukon XL?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon XL 2WD Diesel | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 21 MPG | 26 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| Yukon XL 4WD Diesel | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 20 MPG | 24 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Yukon XL 2WD | 5.3L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Yukon XL 2WD | 6.2L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 15 MPG | 19 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| Yukon XL 4WD | 6.2L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 14 MPG | 18 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| Yukon XL 4WD | 5.3L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 14 MPG | 19 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $3,850 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 GMC Yukon XL?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 GMC Yukon XL.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 GMC Yukon XL models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 GMC Yukon XL?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 GMC Yukon XL problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 GMC Yukon XL?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: General Motors, LLC is recalling certain 2025–2026 Cadillac Escalade, Escalade ESV, Chevrolet Suburban 1500, Tahoe, GMC Yukon, and Yukon XL vehicles with 24-inch wheels. Incorrect bolts may have been installed on the left and right front wheel hubs, which can result in the bolts loosening or deforming over time.
Defect Summary: General Motors has decided that certain 2027 Chevrolet Bolt EV, 2025-2026 Cadillac OPTIQ, Chevrolet Colorado, Equinox EV, GMC Canyon, 2026 Buick Enclave, Envision, Cadillac CT5, Escalade, Escalade ESV, Escalade IQ, Escalade IQL, LYRIQ, VISTIQ, Chevrolet Blazer EV, Corvette Convertible, Corvette Coupe, Corvette Convertible E-Ray, Equinox, Silverado 1500, 2500, 3500, Silverado EV, Suburban 1500, Tahoe, Traverse, GMC Acadia, Hummer EV Pickup, Hummer EV SUV, Sierra 1500, 2500, 3500, Sierra EV, Terrain, Yukon, and Yukon XL vehicles. The radio may not have been set to the correct status to download the electronic owner's manual during production. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, “Occupant Protection.”
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.