Defect Summary: Chrysler (FCA US, LLC) is recalling certain 2020-2025 Jeep Wrangler 4Xe and 2022-2026 Grand Cherokee 4Xe vehicles. The high voltage battery may fail internally and lead to a vehicle fire while parked or driving.
The 2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee has zero owner defect complaints and 5 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA. EPA testing covers 9 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl, 3.6l 6-cyl, and 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 21 to 23 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 56 MPGe (23 MPG on gasoline) with up to 26 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 5 campaigns
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 21–23 MPG (9 variants • PHEV up to 56 MPGe)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Cherokee L 2WD | 2L 4-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 21 MPG | 26 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $2,650 / yr |
| Grand Cherokee L 2WD | 3.6L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 19 MPG | 26 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $2,950 / yr |
| Grand Cherokee L 4WD | 2L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 20 MPG | 25 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $2,800 / yr |
| Grand Cherokee L 4WD | 3.6L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 18 MPG | 25 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $2,950 / yr |
| Grand Cherokee 4xe Plug-in Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 57 MPGe (23 MPG) | 56 MPGe (24 MPG) | 56 MPGe (23 MPG) | 26 mi EV (470 mi total) | $2,650 / yr |
| Grand Cherokee 2WD | 2L 4-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 21 MPG | 27 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $2,650 / yr |
| Grand Cherokee 2WD | 3.6L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 19 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $2,800 / yr |
| Grand Cherokee 4WD | 2L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 20 MPG | 25 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $2,800 / yr |
| Grand Cherokee 4WD | 3.6L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 19 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $2,800 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Chrysler (FCA US, LLC) is recalling certain 2026 Jeep Grand Cherokee and Grand Cherokee L vehicles. Due to a software issue in the body control module (BCM), the windshield wipers may fail.
Defect Summary: Chrysler (FCA US, LLC) is recalling certain 2026 Jeep Wrangler, Jeep Gladiator, Jeep Compass, Jeep Cherokee, Jeep Grand Cherokee, Jeep Grand Cherokee L, Jeep Grand Wagoneer, Jeep Grand Wagoneer L, Ram Promaster, Ram Promaster EV, Ram 1500, Ram 2500, Chrysler Pacifica Plug-In Hybrid, Chrysler Voyager, and 2026-2027 Chrysler Pacifica and Dodge Charger vehicles. The rearview camera image may fail to display when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.