Defect Summary: Kia America, Inc. (Kia) is recalling certain 2025 Kia K4, 2025-2026 Sorento, Sorento Hybrid, Sorento Plug-In Hybrid Electric (PHEV), 2026 Sportage, Sportage Hybrid, Sportage PHEV, K5, EV9, Carnival, and Carnival Hybrid vehicles. Due to a software error, the instrument panel display may fail. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) numbers 101, "Controls and Displays" and 138, "Tire Pressure Monitoring System."
The 2026 Kia K5 has zero owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign on file with NHTSA. EPA testing covers 4 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2.5l 4-cyl powertrain configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 27 to 30 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 campaign
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 27–30 MPG (4 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Kia K5?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| K5 w/Stop-Start | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 26 MPG | 37 MPG | 30 MPG | — | $2,050 / yr |
| K5 | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 25 MPG | 36 MPG | 29 MPG | — | $2,100 / yr |
| K5 AWD | 2.5L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 24 MPG | 33 MPG | 27 MPG | — | $2,300 / yr |
| K5 | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 23 MPG | 33 MPG | 27 MPG | — | $2,300 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Kia K5?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Kia K5.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Kia K5 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Kia K5?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 Kia K5 problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Kia K5?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.