The 2024 Lexus RZ is associated with 5 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 2 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 3 reports (60% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 96 to 126 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 196–266 miles across 4 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 5 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 2 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Electrical System (3 / 60%)
  • Safety Incident Signals: 1 crash / 0 fire / 0 injury reports
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 96–126 MPGe (4 variants)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Electric Efficiency
96–126MPGe
196–266 mi EPA electric range across 4 variants
Reported Complaints
5
5 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
2
2 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2024 Lexus RZ?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
RZ 300e (18 inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 139 MPGe 113 MPGe 126 MPGe 266 mi $600 / yr
RZ 450e AWD (18 inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 117 MPGe 99 MPGe 108 MPGe 220 mi $700 / yr
RZ 300e (20 inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 117 MPGe 97 MPGe 107 MPGe 224 mi $700 / yr
RZ 450e AWD (20 inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 104 MPGe 88 MPGe 96 MPGe 196 mi $800 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2024 Lexus RZ provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 266 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2024 Lexus RZ?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2024 Lexus RZ.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2024 Lexus RZ models.
View complete 2024 Lexus RZ crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2024 Lexus RZ?

Summary of 5 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
5
Crash Reports
1
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Electrical System 3 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,LANE DEPARTURE 1 complaint (1 crash)
Seat Belts 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2024 Lexus RZ problems & component breakdown (3 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2024 Lexus RZ?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #25V744000 Active Recall
Affected Component: BACK OVER PREVENTION:DISPLAY FUNCTION

Defect Summary: Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2022-2026 Toyota, Lexus, and Subaru Solterra vehicles equipped with a Panoramic View Monitor (PVM) system. Please see the recall report for a complete list of models. A software error may cause the rearview camera to freeze or display a blank screen when the vehicle is in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will update the parking assist software, free of charge. Owner letters were mailed January 2, 2026. Owners may contact Toyota's customer service at 1-800-331-4331. Toyota's numbers for this recall are 25TB13 and 25LB06. Subaru's number for this recall is WRE25.
NHTSA Campaign #25V577000 Active Recall
Affected Component: VISIBILITY:DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER/HVAC SYSTEM

Defect Summary: Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2023-2025 bZ4X, Lexus RZ, and Subaru Solterra vehicles. During certain HVAC system faults, such as electrical compressor failure, the defroster and defogger system may become inoperative.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will update the HVAC control ECU software, free of charge. Dealers will also inspect the electrical compressor, and replace it, if necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed October 17, 2025. Owners may contact Toyota's customer service at 1-800-331-4331. Toyota's numbers for this recall are 25TB07 and 25TA07. Lexus' numbers for this recall are 25LB04 and 25LA04. Subaru's number for this recall is WRD-25.
View all 2024 Lexus RZ recalls & campaign history (2 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.