The 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL has zero owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign on file with NHTSA. EPA testing covers 4 certified vehicle configurations spanning 4l 8-cyl and 2L 4-Cyl hybrid configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 16 to 22 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 campaign
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 16–22 MPG (4 variants)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
16–22MPG
4 EPA certified variants (4l 8-cyl and 2L 4-Cyl hybrid configurations)
Reported Complaints
0
0 submitted complaints
Safety Recalls
1
1 official NHTSA recall
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
SL680 Maybach 4L 8-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 13 MPG 20 MPG 16 MPG $4,750 / yr
AMG SL43 Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 19 MPG 27 MPG 22 MPG $3,450 / yr
AMG SL63 4matic Plus 4L 8-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 14 MPG 21 MPG 16 MPG $4,750 / yr
AMG SL55 4matic Plus 4L 8-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 14 MPG 21 MPG 16 MPG $4,750 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL models.
View complete 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V281000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT CLUSTER/PANEL

Defect Summary: Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC (MBUSA) is recalling certain 2024-2026 AMG GT, C-Class, E-Class, SL, CLE, and GLC vehicles. The infotainment control unit may reset while the vehicle is in motion and cause the instrument panel display to go blank.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will update the infotainment control unit software, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed June 29, 2026. MBUSA's number for this recall is 2026050004. Owners may contact MBUSA customer service at 1-800-367-6372. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will be searchable on NHTSA.gov beginning May 8, 2026.
View all 2026 Mercedes-Benz SL recalls & campaign history (1 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.