The 2016 MINI Paceman has 38 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and zero open safety recall campaigns recorded in the federal database. The most frequently reported component area is Engine, accounting for 7 reports (18% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 8 certified vehicle configurations spanning 1.6l 4-cyl powertrain configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 26 to 29 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 38 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 0 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Engine (7 / 18%)
  • Safety Incident Signals: 2 crash / 0 fire / 4 injury reports
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 26–29 MPG (8 variants)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
26–29MPG
8 EPA certified variants (1.6l 4-cyl powertrain configurations)
Reported Complaints
38
38 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
0
0 open safety recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2016 MINI Paceman?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Cooper Paceman 1.6L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Manual 6-spd 26 MPG 32 MPG 29 MPG $2,600 / yr
Cooper S Paceman 1.6L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (S6) 25 MPG 31 MPG 28 MPG $2,700 / yr
Cooper S Paceman 1.6L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Manual 6-spd 26 MPG 32 MPG 28 MPG $2,700 / yr
Cooper Paceman 1.6L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (S6) 25 MPG 29 MPG 27 MPG $2,800 / yr
Cooper S Paceman All4 1.6L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Manual 6-spd 25 MPG 30 MPG 27 MPG $2,800 / yr
JCW Paceman All4 1.6L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Manual 6-spd 25 MPG 30 MPG 27 MPG $2,800 / yr
Cooper S Paceman All4 1.6L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S6) 23 MPG 30 MPG 26 MPG $2,900 / yr
JCW Paceman All4 1.6L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S6) 23 MPG 30 MPG 26 MPG $2,900 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2016 MINI Paceman?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2016 MINI Paceman.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2016 MINI Paceman models.
View complete 2016 MINI Paceman crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2016 MINI Paceman?

Summary of 38 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
38
Crash Reports
2
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
4
Total Injuries
6

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Engine 7 complaints
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 6 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,EXTERIOR LIGHTING 5 complaints
Powertrain 5 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,SERVICE BRAKES 2 complaints

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2016 MINI Paceman problems & component breakdown (16 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2016 MINI Paceman?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

No open safety recall campaigns are currently on file with NHTSA for the 2016 MINI Paceman.

View all 2016 MINI Paceman recalls & campaign history (0 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.