Defect Summary: Porsche Cars North America, Inc. (Porsche) is recalling certain 2019-2025 Cayenne, Cayenne E-Hybrid, 2020-2025 911, Taycan, 2024-2025 Panamera, and 2025 Panamera E-Hybrid vehicles. The rearview camera image may not display when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."
The 2020 Porsche Taycan is associated with 93 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 16 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 33 reports (35% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 68 to 69 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 192–203 miles across 3 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year. The 2020 Porsche Taycan belongs to the 1st generation (Type Y1A/Y1B) Taycan platform spanning model years 2020–2026.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 93 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 16 campaigns
- • Top Reported Defect Area: Electrical System (33 / 35%)
- • Safety Incident Signals: 1 crash / 1 fire / 0 injury reports
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 68–69 MPGe (3 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Porsche Taycan?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Taycan Turbo 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A2) | 68 MPGe | 71 MPGe | 69 MPGe | 201 mi | $1,100 / yr |
| Taycan 4S Perf Battery Plus 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A2) | 68 MPGe | 71 MPGe | 69 MPGe | 203 mi | $1,100 / yr |
| Taycan Turbo S 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A2) | 67 MPGe | 68 MPGe | 68 MPGe | 192 mi | $1,100 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Porsche Taycan?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Porsche Taycan.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Porsche Taycan models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Porsche Taycan?
Summary of 93 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Porsche Taycan problems & component breakdown (36 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Porsche Taycan?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Porsche Cars North America, Inc. (Porsche) is recalling certain 2020-2023 Taycan vehicles. The high-voltage battery may experience a short circuit within the battery module.
Defect Summary: Porsche Cars North America, Inc. (Porsche) is recalling certain 2021-2024 Taycan vehicles. The high-voltage battery may experience a short circuit within the battery module.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.