Defect Summary: Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain Toyota Racing Development (TRD) brake kits, part numbers PTR09-21111 and PTR09-52080, sold by Toyota as an optional accessory for model year 2008-2015 Scion xB, and 2011-2016 Scion tC vehicles. Over time, the brake hoses in these kits may fatigue and fail.
The 2016 Scion tC is associated with 6 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Other / Uncategorized, accounting for 3 reports (50% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 2 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2.5l 4-cyl powertrain configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 26 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 6 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 campaigns
- • Top Reported Defect Area: Other / Uncategorized (3 / 50%)
- • Safety Incident Signals: 1 crash / 0 fire / 2 injury reports
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 26 MPG (2 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2016 Scion tC?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| tC | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Manual 6-spd | 23 MPG | 30 MPG | 26 MPG | — | $2,350 / yr |
| tC | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S6) | 23 MPG | 30 MPG | 26 MPG | — | $2,350 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2016 Scion tC?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2016 Scion tC.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2016 Scion tC models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2016 Scion tC?
Summary of 6 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2016 Scion tC problems & component breakdown (4 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2016 Scion tC?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Southeast Toyota Distributors, LLC (SET) is recalling certain model year 2016 Toyota Camry and Highlander, 2015-2016 Toyota Tundra, Scion FR-S, and tC vehicles. The Load Carrying Capacity Modification Label may not reflect the correct added weight of the installed accessories. As a result, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 110, "Tire Selection and Rims for Passenger Cars."
Defect Summary: Southeast Toyota Distributors, LLC (SET) is recalling certain model year 2016 Toyota Yaris, Rav4, Land Cruiser and 4Runner vehicles, and Scion FR-S, iM, and TC vehicles manufactured January 28, 2016, to March 14, 2016. The Load Carrying Capacity Modification Label may not reflect the correct added weight of the installed accessories. As a result, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 110, "Tire Selection and Rims for Passenger Cars."
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.