The 2016 smart fortwo has zero owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign on file with NHTSA. EPA testing covers 4 certified vehicle configurations spanning 0.9l 3-cyl and all-electric configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 34 to 35 MPG combined. All-electric variants deliver up to 107 MPGe with an estimated range of 68 miles. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 campaign
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 34–35 MPG (4 variants)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
34–35MPG
4 EPA certified variants (0.9l 3-cyl and all-electric configurations)
Reported Complaints
0
0 submitted complaints
Safety Recalls
1
1 official NHTSA recall
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2016 smart fortwo?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
fortwo coupe 0.9L 3-Cyl Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (AM6) 33 MPG 39 MPG 35 MPG $2,150 / yr
fortwo coupe 0.9L 3-Cyl Rear-Wheel Drive Manual 5-spd 31 MPG 39 MPG 34 MPG $2,250 / yr
fortwo electric drive convertible 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 122 MPGe 93 MPGe 107 MPGe 68 mi $700 / yr
fortwo electric drive coupe 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 122 MPGe 93 MPGe 107 MPGe 68 mi $700 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2016 smart fortwo provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 68 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2016 smart fortwo?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2016 smart fortwo.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2016 smart fortwo models.
View complete 2016 smart fortwo crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2016 smart fortwo?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2016 smart fortwo problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2016 smart fortwo?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #17V448000 Active Recall
Affected Component: PARKING BRAKE

Defect Summary: Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC (MBUSA) is recalling certain 2016 smart fortwo vehicles. In these vehicles, the lock nut that secures the parking brake cable to the parking brake lever may loosen over time, resulting in increased parking brake lever travel before the parking brake engages.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: MBUSA will notify owners, and dealers will replace the parking brake cable lock nut, free of charge. The recall began September 20, 2017. Owners may contact smart customer service at 1-877-496-3691.
View all 2016 smart fortwo recalls & campaign history (1 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.