Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2025 Model 3 and 2026 Model Y vehicles. The battery pack contactors may fail, causing a loss of drive power.
The 2025 Tesla Model 3 is associated with 113 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Other / Uncategorized, accounting for 21 reports (19% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 109 to 137 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 298–363 miles across 4 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 113 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 campaigns
- • Top Reported Defect Area: Other / Uncategorized (21 / 19%)
- • Safety Incident Signals: 24 crash / 0 fire / 6 injury reports
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 109–137 MPGe (4 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 Tesla Model 3?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model 3 Long Range RWD 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 145 MPGe | 128 MPGe | 137 MPGe | 363 mi | $550 / yr |
| Model 3 Long Range RWD-I (19in wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 140 MPGe | 123 MPGe | 131 MPGe | 346 mi | $600 / yr |
| Model 3 Long Range AWD 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 133 MPGe | 122 MPGe | 128 MPGe | 346 mi | $600 / yr |
| Model 3 Performance AWD 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 113 MPGe | 104 MPGe | 109 MPGe | 298 mi | $700 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 Tesla Model 3?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 Tesla Model 3.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 Tesla Model 3 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 Tesla Model 3?
Summary of 113 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2025 Tesla Model 3 problems & component breakdown (54 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 Tesla Model 3?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2024-2025 Model 3, Model S, 2023-2025 Model X, and Model Y vehicles. The computer circuit board may short, resulting in the loss of the rearview camera image. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2024 Cybertruck, 2017-2025 Model 3, and 2020-2025 Model Y vehicles. The tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) warning light may not remain illuminated between drive cycles, failing to warn the driver of low tire pressure. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 138, "Tire Pressure Monitoring Systems."
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.