The 2017 Tesla Model S has zero owner defect complaints and 9 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA. EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 95 to 104 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 210–335 miles across 8 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 9 campaigns
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 95–104 MPGe (8 variants)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Electric Efficiency
95–104MPGe
210–335 mi EPA electric range across 8 variants
Reported Complaints
0
0 submitted complaints
Safety Recalls
9
9 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2017 Tesla Model S?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Model S AWD - 90D 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 102 MPGe 107 MPGe 104 MPGe 294 mi $700 / yr
Model S AWD - 60D 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 101 MPGe 107 MPGe 104 MPGe 218 mi $700 / yr
Model S AWD - 75D 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 102 MPGe 105 MPGe 103 MPGe 259 mi $750 / yr
Model S AWD - 100D 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 101 MPGe 102 MPGe 102 MPGe 335 mi $750 / yr
Model S (60 kW-hr battery pack) 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 98 MPGe 101 MPGe 99 MPGe 210 mi $750 / yr
Model S (75 kW-hr battery pack) 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 97 MPGe 100 MPGe 98 MPGe 249 mi $750 / yr
Model S AWD - P100D 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 92 MPGe 105 MPGe 98 MPGe 315 mi $800 / yr
Model S AWD - P90D 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 92 MPGe 100 MPGe 95 MPGe 270 mi $800 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2017 Tesla Model S provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 335 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2017 Tesla Model S?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2017 Tesla Model S.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2017 Tesla Model S models.
View complete 2017 Tesla Model S crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2017 Tesla Model S?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2017 Tesla Model S problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2017 Tesla Model S?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #24V376000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SEAT BELTS:FRONT:WARNING LIGHT/DEVICES

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2024 Model S, 2015-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, and 2020-2023 Model Y vehicles. In the event of an unbelted driver, the seat belt warning light and audible chime may not activate as intended. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla will release an over-the-air (OTA) software update. Owner notification letters were mailed July 26, 2024. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-24-00-008.
NHTSA Campaign #24V051000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT CLUSTER/PANEL

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2023 Model S, 2016-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, 2019-2024 Model Y, and 2024 Cybertruck vehicles. An incorrect font size is displayed on the instrument panel for the Brake, Park, and Antilock Brake System (ABS) warning lights. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 105, "Hydraulic and Electric Brake Systems" and 135, "Light Vehicle Brake Systems."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla began releasing an over-the-air (OTA) software update, free of charge. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-24-00-003.
NHTSA Campaign #23V838000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:ADAS:AUTONOMOUS/SELF DRIVING:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling 2012-2023 Model S, 2016-2023 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, and 2020-2023 Model Y vehicles equipped with all versions of Autosteer leading up to the version(s) that contains the recall remedy. In certain circumstances when Autosteer is engaged, the prominence and scope of the feature's controls may not be sufficient to prevent driver misuse of the SAE Level 2 advanced driver-assistance feature.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla will release an over-the-air (OTA) software update, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed February 10, 2024. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-23-00-008.
View all 2017 Tesla Model S recalls & campaign history (9 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.