Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2024 Model S, 2015-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, and 2020-2023 Model Y vehicles. In the event of an unbelted driver, the seat belt warning light and audible chime may not activate as intended. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."
The 2020 Tesla Model S is associated with 80 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 11 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Forward Collision Avoidance, accounting for 10 reports (13% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 97 to 117 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 287–402 miles across 5 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 80 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 11 campaigns
- • Top Reported Defect Area: Forward Collision Avoidance (10 / 13%)
- • Safety Incident Signals: 16 crash / 0 fire / 7 injury reports
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 97–117 MPGe (5 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Tesla Model S?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model S Long Range Plus 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 121 MPGe | 112 MPGe | 117 MPGe | 402 mi | $650 / yr |
| Model S Long Range 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 115 MPGe | 107 MPGe | 111 MPGe | 373 mi | $700 / yr |
| Model S Standard Range 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 113 MPGe | 105 MPGe | 109 MPGe | 287 mi | $700 / yr |
| Model S Performance (19in Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 104 MPGe | 104 MPGe | 104 MPGe | 348 mi | $750 / yr |
| Model S Performance (21in Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 98 MPGe | 96 MPGe | 97 MPGe | 326 mi | $800 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Tesla Model S?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Tesla Model S.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Tesla Model S models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Tesla Model S?
Summary of 80 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Tesla Model S problems & component breakdown (30 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Tesla Model S?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2013, 2018-2021 Model S, 2020-2021 Model X, 2018-2022 Model 3, and 2020-2022 Model Y vehicles. A factory reset muted the Pedestrian Warning System (PWS) sounds. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 141, "Minimum Sound Requirements for Hybrid and Electric Vehicles."
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2023 Model S, 2016-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, 2019-2024 Model Y, and 2024 Cybertruck vehicles. An incorrect font size is displayed on the instrument panel for the Brake, Park, and Antilock Brake System (ABS) warning lights. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 105, "Hydraulic and Electric Brake Systems" and 135, "Light Vehicle Brake Systems."
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.