The 2023 Tesla Model S is associated with 111 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 13 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Other / Uncategorized, accounting for 46 reports (41% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 120 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 405 miles across 1 certified vehicle configuration. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 111 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 13 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Other / Uncategorized (46 / 41%)
  • Safety Incident Signals: 8 crash / 0 fire / 0 injury reports
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 120 MPGe (1 variant)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Electric Efficiency
120MPGe
405 mi EPA electric range across 1 variants
Reported Complaints
111
111 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
13
13 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2023 Tesla Model S?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Model S 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 124 MPGe 115 MPGe 120 MPGe 405 mi $650 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2023 Tesla Model S provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 405 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2023 Tesla Model S?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2023 Tesla Model S.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2023 Tesla Model S models.
View complete 2023 Tesla Model S crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2023 Tesla Model S?

Summary of 111 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
111
Crash Reports
8
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Steering 9 complaints
Electrical System 4 complaints (1 crash)
Forward Collision Avoidance 4 complaints
STEERING,UNKNOWN OR OTHER 4 complaints (1 crash)
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 3 complaints

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2023 Tesla Model S problems & component breakdown (41 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2023 Tesla Model S?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V283000 Active Recall
Affected Component: BACK OVER PREVENTION:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2017, 2021-2023 Model 3, 2020-2023 Model Y, 2021-2023 Model S, and Model X vehicles operating software version 2026.8.6. The rearview camera image may be delayed when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla has released an over-the-air (OTA) software update, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed July 3, 2026. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-26-00-001.
NHTSA Campaign #25V172000 Active Recall
Affected Component: AIR BAGS

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2021-2024 Model S and 2021-2025 Model X vehicles. An air bag with the incorrect horn pad may have been installed, preventing the horn from sounding.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla service will inspect and install an air bag with the correct horn pad as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed May 20, 2025. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-25-20-001.
NHTSA Campaign #24V967000 Active Recall
Affected Component: AIR BAGS:FRONTAL:DRIVER SIDE:CUSHION

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2021-2025 Model S and Model X vehicles. The driver's air bag could tear during deployment. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) numbers 208, "Occupant Crash Protection" and 212, "Windshield Mounting."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla service will replace the air bag assembly, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed February 21, 2025. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-24-20-001.
View all 2023 Tesla Model S recalls & campaign history (13 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.