The 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge has 13 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and zero open safety recall campaigns recorded in the federal database. The most frequently reported component area is Back Over Prevention / Camera, accounting for 4 reports (31% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 85 to 87 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 223–226 miles across 2 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 13 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 0 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Back Over Prevention / Camera (4 / 31%)
  • Safety Incident Signals: 0 crash / 1 fire / 0 injury reports
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 85–87 MPGe (2 variants)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Electric Efficiency
85–87MPGe
223–226 mi EPA electric range across 2 variants
Reported Complaints
13
13 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
0
0 open safety recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
C40 Recharge twin 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 94 MPGe 80 MPGe 87 MPGe 226 mi $850 / yr
XC40 Recharge twin 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 92 MPGe 79 MPGe 85 MPGe 223 mi $900 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 226 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge models.
View complete 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge?

Summary of 13 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
13
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
1
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Back Over Prevention / Camera 4 complaints
VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL,FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM 2 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,SEATS,UNKNOWN OR OTHER 1 complaint
Engine 1 complaint
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge problems & component breakdown (9 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

No open safety recall campaigns are currently on file with NHTSA for the 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge.

View all 2022 Volvo C40 Recharge recalls & campaign history (0 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.