The 2019 Volvo S60 is associated with 23 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 4 reports (17% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 3 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 25 to 28 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 74 MPGe (31 MPG on gasoline) with up to 22 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 23 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Electrical System (4 / 17%)
  • Safety Incident Signals: 0 crash / 2 fire / 2 injury reports
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 25–28 MPG (3 variants • PHEV up to 74 MPGe)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
25–28MPG
3 EPA certified variants (2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations)
Reported Complaints
23
23 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
4
4 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2019 Volvo S60?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
S60 AWD PHEV Plug-in Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 74 MPGe (29 MPG) 74 MPGe (34 MPG) 74 MPGe (31 MPG) 22 mi EV (520 mi total) $2,450 / yr
S60 FWD 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 24 MPG 36 MPG 28 MPG $2,700 / yr
S60 AWD 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 21 MPG 32 MPG 25 MPG $3,050 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2019 Volvo S60?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2019 Volvo S60.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2019 Volvo S60 models.
View complete 2019 Volvo S60 crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2019 Volvo S60?

Summary of 23 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
23
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
2
Complaints w/ Injury
2
Total Injuries
2

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Electrical System 4 complaints
Tires 3 complaints
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 2 complaints
Seats & Restraints 2 complaints
Air Bags 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2019 Volvo S60 problems & component breakdown (16 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2019 Volvo S60?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #23V780000 Active Recall
Affected Component: AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC. (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2019-2024 S60 vehicles. The passenger air bag may not be secured properly, which can cause the air bag to deploy improperly.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will inspect and tighten the bolts securing the passenger air bag, as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed January 5, 2024. Owners may contact Volvo Car customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10254.
NHTSA Campaign #21V414000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING:FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2019-2020 V90, XC60, S60, V60, V60CC, S90, V90CC, S90L, and XC90 vehicles. The low-pressure fuel pump can blow a fuse and fail.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will replace the fuse, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed July 2, 2021. Owners may contact Volvo Car customer service at 1-888-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10100.
NHTSA Campaign #20V144000 Active Recall
Affected Component: FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE: AUTOMATIC EMERGENCY BRAKING

Defect Summary: Volvo Cars USA LLC (Volvo Cars) is recalling certain 2019-2020 S60, V60, V60 Cross Country, S90L, V90, V90 Cross Country, XC40, XC60, and XC90 vehicles. Due to a software/hardware incompatibility, the Automatic Emergency Brake (AEB) system may not detect obstacles and engage as intended.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Volvo will notify owners, and dealers will update the Active Safety Domain Master (ASDM) software, free of charge. The recall began April 9, 2020. Owners may contact Volvo customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo's number for this recall is R29998.
View all 2019 Volvo S60 recalls & campaign history (4 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.