The 2021 Volvo S60 is associated with 8 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,VISIBILITY/WIPER, accounting for 2 reports (25% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 4 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 25 to 27 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 69 MPGe (30 MPG on gasoline) with up to 22 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 8 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,VISIBILITY/WIPER (2 / 25%)
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 25–27 MPG (4 variants • PHEV up to 69 MPGe)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
25–27MPG
4 EPA certified variants (2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations)
Reported Complaints
8
8 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
3
3 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2021 Volvo S60?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
S60 AWD PHEV Plug-in Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 70 MPGe (28 MPG) 68 MPGe (33 MPG) 69 MPGe (30 MPG) 22 mi EV (510 mi total) $2,550 / yr
S60 FWD 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 23 MPG 34 MPG 27 MPG $2,800 / yr
S60 AWD 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 22 MPG 33 MPG 26 MPG $2,900 / yr
S60 AWD 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 21 MPG 32 MPG 25 MPG $3,050 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2021 Volvo S60?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2021 Volvo S60.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2021 Volvo S60 models.
View complete 2021 Volvo S60 crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2021 Volvo S60?

Summary of 8 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
8
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,VISIBILITY/WIPER 2 complaints
Service Brakes 2 complaints
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,UNKNOWN OR OTHER,VISIBILITY/WIPER 1 complaint
STEERING,ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,ENGINE 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2021 Volvo S60 problems & component breakdown (5 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2021 Volvo S60?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #25V179000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2020-2021 S90, 2020-2022 S60, V60, XC60, XC90, and 2022 V90 plug-in hybrid vehicles. The high-voltage battery may experience a short circuit within the battery module when the battery is fully charged and the vehicle is parked.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Owners are advised not to charge their vehicles until the remedy has been completed. Dealers will inspect and replace the high-voltage battery module as necessary. In addition, dealers will update the software to monitor the battery. All repairs will be performed free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed May 28, 2025. Owners may contact Volvo Car's customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10312.
NHTSA Campaign #23V780000 Active Recall
Affected Component: AIR BAGS:FRONTAL

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC. (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2019-2024 S60 vehicles. The passenger air bag may not be secured properly, which can cause the air bag to deploy improperly.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will inspect and tighten the bolts securing the passenger air bag, as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed January 5, 2024. Owners may contact Volvo Car customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10254.
NHTSA Campaign #21V682000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SEAT BELTS:FRONT:RETRACTOR

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2021 XC40, XC 40 Recharge, V60CC, V90, V90CC, XC90, and 2021-2022 V60, XC60, S60 vehicles. The seat belt automatic locking retractors may deactivate early, which can prevent the child restraint system from securing properly. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will inspect and replace the seat belt assemblies, as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed October 13, 2021. Owners may contact Volvo Car customer service at 1-888-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10111.
View all 2021 Volvo S60 recalls & campaign history (3 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.