Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2019-2020 V90, XC60, S60, V60, V60CC, S90, V90CC, S90L, and XC90 vehicles. The low-pressure fuel pump can blow a fuse and fail.
The 2019 Volvo S90 has zero owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA. EPA testing covers 4 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl and 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 25 to 27 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 71 MPGe (29 MPG on gasoline) with up to 21 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 campaigns
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 25–27 MPG (4 variants • PHEV up to 71 MPGe)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2019 Volvo S90?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| S90 FWD | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 23 MPG | 35 MPG | 27 MPG | — | $2,800 / yr |
| S90 AWD PHEV Plug-in Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 70 MPGe (26 MPG) | 72 MPGe (33 MPG) | 71 MPGe (29 MPG) | 21 mi EV (490 mi total) | $2,600 / yr |
| S90 AWD | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 22 MPG | 31 MPG | 26 MPG | — | $2,900 / yr |
| S90 AWD | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 21 MPG | 31 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2019 Volvo S90?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2019 Volvo S90.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2019 Volvo S90 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2019 Volvo S90?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2019 Volvo S90 problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2019 Volvo S90?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Volvo Cars USA LLC (Volvo Cars) is recalling certain 2019-2020 S60, V60, V60 Cross Country, S90L, V90, V90 Cross Country, XC40, XC60, and XC90 vehicles. Due to a software/hardware incompatibility, the Automatic Emergency Brake (AEB) system may not detect obstacles and engage as intended.
Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA LLC (Volvo) is recalling certain 2018-2019 XC60 and S90 vehicles. The driver and passenger front seat rail rear flange nuts may not have been installed during assembly.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.