The 2020 Volvo S90 is associated with 1 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is SUSPENSION,WHEELS,SERVICE BRAKES, accounting for 1 reports (100% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 2 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 25 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 60 MPGe (30 MPG on gasoline) with up to 21 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 1 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: SUSPENSION,WHEELS,SERVICE BRAKES (1 / 100%)
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 25 MPG (2 variants • PHEV up to 60 MPGe)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
25MPG
2 EPA certified variants (2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations)
Reported Complaints
1
1 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
3
3 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Volvo S90?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
S90 AWD PHEV Plug-in Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 58 MPGe (28 MPG) 64 MPGe (31 MPG) 60 MPGe (30 MPG) 21 mi EV (490 mi total) $2,550 / yr
S90 AWD 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 21 MPG 31 MPG 25 MPG $3,050 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Volvo S90?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Volvo S90.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Volvo S90 models.
View complete 2020 Volvo S90 crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Volvo S90?

Summary of 1 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
1
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

SUSPENSION,WHEELS,SERVICE BRAKES 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2020 Volvo S90 problems & component breakdown (1 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Volvo S90?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #25V179000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2020-2021 S90, 2020-2022 S60, V60, XC60, XC90, and 2022 V90 plug-in hybrid vehicles. The high-voltage battery may experience a short circuit within the battery module when the battery is fully charged and the vehicle is parked.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Owners are advised not to charge their vehicles until the remedy has been completed. Dealers will inspect and replace the high-voltage battery module as necessary. In addition, dealers will update the software to monitor the battery. All repairs will be performed free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed May 28, 2025. Owners may contact Volvo Car's customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10312.
NHTSA Campaign #21V414000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:WIRING:FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2019-2020 V90, XC60, S60, V60, V60CC, S90, V90CC, S90L, and XC90 vehicles. The low-pressure fuel pump can blow a fuse and fail.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will replace the fuse, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed July 2, 2021. Owners may contact Volvo Car customer service at 1-888-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10100.
NHTSA Campaign #20V144000 Active Recall
Affected Component: FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE: AUTOMATIC EMERGENCY BRAKING

Defect Summary: Volvo Cars USA LLC (Volvo Cars) is recalling certain 2019-2020 S60, V60, V60 Cross Country, S90L, V90, V90 Cross Country, XC40, XC60, and XC90 vehicles. Due to a software/hardware incompatibility, the Automatic Emergency Brake (AEB) system may not detect obstacles and engage as intended.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Volvo will notify owners, and dealers will update the Active Safety Domain Master (ASDM) software, free of charge. The recall began April 9, 2020. Owners may contact Volvo customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo's number for this recall is R29998.
View all 2020 Volvo S90 recalls & campaign history (3 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.