The 2019 Volvo XC40 is associated with 30 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Service Brakes, accounting for 4 reports (13% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 2 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl powertrain configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 26 to 27 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 30 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Service Brakes (4 / 13%)
  • Safety Incident Signals: 4 crash / 0 fire / 3 injury reports
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 26–27 MPG (2 variants)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
26–27MPG
2 EPA certified variants (2l 4-cyl powertrain configurations)
Reported Complaints
30
30 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
4
4 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2019 Volvo XC40?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
XC40 FWD 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 23 MPG 33 MPG 27 MPG $2,300 / yr
XC40 AWD 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 23 MPG 31 MPG 26 MPG $2,900 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2019 Volvo XC40?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2019 Volvo XC40.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2019 Volvo XC40 models.
View complete 2019 Volvo XC40 crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2019 Volvo XC40?

Summary of 30 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
30
Crash Reports
4
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
3
Total Injuries
3

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Service Brakes 4 complaints (1 crash)
Air Bags 2 complaints (1 crash)
Forward Collision Avoidance 2 complaints
AIR BAGS,SEAT BELTS 1 complaint
AIR BAGS,VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL,ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2019 Volvo XC40 problems & component breakdown (23 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2019 Volvo XC40?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #18V554000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:PEDALS AND LINKAGES

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA LLC (Volvo) is recalling certain 2019 Volvo XC40 vehicles. The brake pedals may not have been correctly riveted, allowing the pedal to move out of position, possibly reducing braking performance.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Volvo has notified owners advising them to stop driving their vehicle. Cars will be inspected on-site or towed to dealers and the brake pedals will be replaced as necessary, free of charge. Volvo began contacting their owners on August 23, 2018. Owners may contact Volvo customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo's number for this recall is R59899.
NHTSA Campaign #20V144000 Active Recall
Affected Component: FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE: AUTOMATIC EMERGENCY BRAKING

Defect Summary: Volvo Cars USA LLC (Volvo Cars) is recalling certain 2019-2020 S60, V60, V60 Cross Country, S90L, V90, V90 Cross Country, XC40, XC60, and XC90 vehicles. Due to a software/hardware incompatibility, the Automatic Emergency Brake (AEB) system may not detect obstacles and engage as intended.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Volvo will notify owners, and dealers will update the Active Safety Domain Master (ASDM) software, free of charge. The recall began April 9, 2020. Owners may contact Volvo customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo's number for this recall is R29998.
NHTSA Campaign #18V800000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA LLC (Volvo) is recalling certain 2017-2019 Volvo XC90, S90, V60, V60 Cross Country, V90, XC40, XC60, and V90 Cross Country vehicles. The software installed in the Vehicle Connectivity Module (VCM) may have an error causing the Telematics and Driver Support Systems to function improperly. As a result, the GPS will not provide location information to emergency personnel in the event of an emergency.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Volvo will notify owners, and dealers will correct the software, free of charge. The recall began December 26, 2018. Owners may contact Volvo customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo's number for this recall is R39917.
View all 2019 Volvo XC40 recalls & campaign history (4 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.