The 2024 Volvo XC40 is associated with 28 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Back Over Prevention / Camera, accounting for 5 reports (18% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 3 certified vehicle configurations spanning all-electric and 2L 4-Cyl hybrid configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 26 MPG combined. All-electric variants deliver up to 106 MPGe with an estimated range of 293 miles. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 28 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Back Over Prevention / Camera (5 / 18%)
  • Safety Incident Signals: 5 crash / 0 fire / 3 injury reports
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 26 MPG (3 variants)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
26MPG
3 EPA certified variants (all-electric and 2L 4-Cyl hybrid configurations)
Reported Complaints
28
28 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
4
4 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2024 Volvo XC40?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
XC40 Recharge 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 118 MPGe 95 MPGe 106 MPGe 293 mi $700 / yr
XC40 Recharge twin 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 106 MPGe 90 MPGe 98 MPGe 254 mi $800 / yr
XC40 B5 AWD Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 24 MPG 30 MPG 26 MPG $2,900 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2024 Volvo XC40 provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 293 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2024 Volvo XC40?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2024 Volvo XC40.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2024 Volvo XC40 models.
View complete 2024 Volvo XC40 crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2024 Volvo XC40?

Summary of 28 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
28
Crash Reports
5
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
3
Total Injuries
3

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Back Over Prevention / Camera 5 complaints (1 crash)
EXTERIOR LIGHTING 3 complaints
Electrical System 2 complaints
AIR BAGS,SEAT BELTS,SERVICE BRAKES 1 complaint
BACK OVER PREVENTION,FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE 1 complaint

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2024 Volvo XC40 problems & component breakdown (18 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2024 Volvo XC40?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #25V908000 Active Recall
Affected Component: BACK OVER PREVENTION:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2021-2025 XC40, 2022 V90, 2022-2024 C40BEV, 2022-2025 S90, V90CC, XC60, 2023-2025 S60, V60, V60CC, XC90, and 2025 EC40, and EX40 vehicles. The rearview camera image may not display when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: The software will be updated by a dealer or through an over-the-air (OTA) update, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed February 24, 2026. Owners may contact Volvo Car’s customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10333. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will be searchable on NHTSA.gov beginning February 16, 2026. This recall replaces previous NHTSA recall number 25V282. Vehicles previously repaired under recall 25V282 will need to have the new remedy performed.
NHTSA Campaign #25V392000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:POWER ASSIST:ELECTRIC:CONTROL MODULE:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2023 Volvo C40 BEV, 2025 EC40, 2023-2024 XC40 BEV, 2020-2026 XC90 PHEV, 2022-2026 XC60 PHEV, 2023-2025 S60 PHEV, 2024-2025 V60 PHEV, and 2025-2026 EX40 and 2025 S90 PHEV vehicles. In certain driving scenarios while coasting down a hill and using "B" mode or "One Pedal Drive," the vehicle may lose brake function.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Owners are advised not to use "B" Mode (for plug-in hybrid vehicles) or "One Pedal Drive" (for pure electric vehicles) until the repair has been completed. The brake module software will be updated over-the-air (OTA) or by a dealer, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed July 15, 2025. Owners may contact Volvo Car's customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10329.
NHTSA Campaign #25V282000 Active Recall
Affected Component: BACK OVER PREVENTION:SOFTWARE

Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2021-2025 XC40, 2022 V90, 2022-2025 S90, V90CC, C40, XC60, 2023-2025 S60, V60, V60CC, XC90, and 2025 EC40 and EX40 vehicles. The rearview camera image may not display when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: The software will be updated by a dealer or through an over-the-air (OTA) update, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed June 27, 2025. Owners may contact Volvo Car customer service at 1-800-458-1552. Volvo Car's number for this recall is R10320.
View all 2024 Volvo XC40 recalls & campaign history (4 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.