Defect Summary: Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2018-2021, 2023 Acura TLX, 2019-2024 RDX, 2017-2020, 2022-2026 MDX, 2017-2021, 2023, 2025 Honda Ridgeline, 2017-2022 Pilot, 2019-2021 Passport, 2018-2026 Odyssey, 2019-2022 Insight, 2019-2021 HR-V, 2018-2020 Fit, 2020-2022 CR-V Hybrid, 2017-2022 CR-V, 2017-2018, 2021 Civic Type R, 2017-2021 Civic hatchback, 2016-2020 Civic coupe, 2016-2022 Civic, 2017-2022 Accord Hybrid, and 2016-2022 Accord vehicles. The front passenger seat weight sensor may crack and short circuit, which can cause the air bags to deploy unintentionally during a crash.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2026 Acura MDX has zero owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign on file with NHTSA.
EPA testing covers 3 certified vehicle configurations spanning 3.5l 6-cyl and 3l 6-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 19 to 22 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 official campaign
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 19–22 MPG across 3 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Acura MDX?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MDX FWD | 3.5L 6-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S10) | 19 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| MDX AWD | 3.5L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S10) | 19 MPG | 25 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| MDX AWD Type-S | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S10) | 17 MPG | 21 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Acura MDX?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Acura MDX.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Acura MDX models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Acura MDX?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 Acura MDX problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Acura MDX?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Acura MDX
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Acura MDX
How many safety recalls does the 2026 Acura MDX have?
The 2026 Acura MDX is associated with 1 official NHTSA safety recall campaign in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Acura MDX?
AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Acura MDX.
A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Acura MDX?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Acura MDX in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 Acura MDX get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 Acura MDX range from 19 to 22 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.