Defect Summary: Volkswagen Group of America, Inc. (Audi) is recalling certain 2019-2023 Audi E-Tron Quattro, 2020-2023 Audi E-Tron Sportback, 2024 Q8 E-Tron, Q8 Sportback E-Tron, SQ8 E-Tron, and SQ8 Sportback E-Tron vehicles. The fastener that connects the brake pedal and the brake booster may have been improperly assembled during manufacturing, which can cause the brake pedal to detach from the brake booster.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2022 Audi e-tron is associated with 43 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 6 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 10 reports (23% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 63 to 95 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 181–241 miles across 10 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 43 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 6 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (10 / 23%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 1 crash / 2 fire / 2 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 63 MPGe across 10 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2022 Audi e-tron?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Q4 e-tron quattro 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 100 MPGe | 89 MPGe | 95 MPGe | 241 mi | $800 / yr |
| Q4 e-tron Sportback quattro 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 100 MPGe | 89 MPGe | 95 MPGe | 241 mi | $800 / yr |
| e-tron GT 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A2) | 81 MPGe | 83 MPGe | 82 MPGe | 238 mi | $950 / yr |
| RS e-tron GT 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A2) | 79 MPGe | 82 MPGe | 81 MPGe | 232 mi | $950 / yr |
| e-tron quattro 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 78 MPGe | 77 MPGe | 78 MPGe | 222 mi | $1,000 / yr |
| e-tron Sportback quattro 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 76 MPGe | 78 MPGe | 77 MPGe | 218 mi | $1,000 / yr |
| e-tron S Sportback (20 inch wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 73 MPGe | 78 MPGe | 75 MPGe | 212 mi | $1,000 / yr |
| e-tron S (20in wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 72 MPGe | 75 MPGe | 73 MPGe | 208 mi | $1,050 / yr |
| e-tron S Sportback (21/22 inch wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 64 MPGe | 66 MPGe | 65 MPGe | 185 mi | $1,150 / yr |
| e-tron S (21/22 inch wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 62 MPGe | 64 MPGe | 63 MPGe | 181 mi | $1,200 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2022 Audi e-tron?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2022 Audi e-tron.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2022 Audi e-tron models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2022 Audi e-tron?
Summary of 43 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2022 Audi e-tron problems & component breakdown (27 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2022 Audi e-tron?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Volkswagen Group of America, Inc. (Audi) is recalling certain 2019-2026 vehicles. Please see the recall report for a complete list of models. A software error may prevent the rearview camera image from displaying as intended. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."
Defect Summary: Volkswagen Group of America, Inc. (Audi) is recalling certain 2020-2022 E-Tron Sportback Quattro and 2019-2022 E-Tron Quattro vehicles. Certain high-voltage battery modules may overheat.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2022 Audi e-tron
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2022 Audi e-tron
How many safety recalls does the 2022 Audi e-tron have?
The 2022 Audi e-tron is associated with 6 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2022 Audi e-tron?
NHTSA records list 43 consumer defect complaints for the 2022 Audi e-tron. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 10 filings (23% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2022 Audi e-tron?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2022 Audi e-tron in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What is the electric driving range of the 2022 Audi e-tron?
The all-electric 2022 Audi e-tron is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 181 to 241 miles per full charge across certified configurations.
Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 95 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.