Defect Summary: BMW of North America, LLC (BMW) is recalling certain 2025 Mini Cooper S, Mini Countryman S All4, X2, 2024 Rolls-Royce Spectre, 2023-2025 i7, 7 Series, X7, 2024-2025 i5, 5 Series, 2023-2024 XM, X1, 2024-2025 X6, and X5 vehicles. The integrated brake (IB) system may malfunction and result in a loss of power brake assist or cause the Antilock Brake (ABS) and Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) systems to not function properly.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2025 BMW X7 is associated with 28 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC,ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC), accounting for 6 reports (21% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 2 certified vehicle configurations spanning 3L 6-Cyl hybrid and 4.4L 8-Cyl hybrid configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 18 to 22 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 28 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC,ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC) (6 / 21%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 2 crash / 0 fire / 1 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 18–22 MPG across 2 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 BMW X7?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| X7 xDrive40i Hybrid | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 20 MPG | 24 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $3,450 / yr |
| X7 M60i xDrive Hybrid | 4.4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 16 MPG | 20 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $4,200 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 BMW X7?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 BMW X7.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 BMW X7 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 BMW X7?
Summary of 28 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2025 BMW X7 problems & component breakdown (15 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 BMW X7?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: BMW of North America (BMW) is recalling certain 2023-2024 X1, 2024-2025 X5, 2025 X6, 2023-2025 X7, 740i, 760i, 2024 XM, 530i, 540i, i7, 750e, X2, 2024-2025 i5, 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre, 2025 MINI Countryman S ALL4, JCW Countryman ALL4, and 2025 MINI Hardtop 2 Door (Cooper, Cooper S) vehicles. Please refer to the recall report for the complete list of models. The welds in the servomotor of the integrated brake control module may break, causing a loss of power brake assist and rear brake function. In addition, the Antilock Brake System (ABS) and Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) system may not function.
Defect Summary: BMW of North America, LLC (BMW) is recalling certain 2024 XM, 2025 BMW X5 sDrive40i, X5 xDrive40i, X5 M60i, X5 M, X5 xDrive50e, X6 xDrive40i, X6 M60i, X6 M, X7 xDrive40i, X7 M60i, and Alpina XB7 vehicles. The seat belt system may inaccurately detect that passengers are belted, preventing the seat belt warning light from illuminating and possibly causing the supplemental restraint system to not deploy as intended during a crash. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2025 BMW X7
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2025 BMW X7
How many safety recalls does the 2025 BMW X7 have?
The 2025 BMW X7 is associated with 4 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2025 BMW X7?
NHTSA records list 28 consumer defect complaints for the 2025 BMW X7. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC,ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC), appearing in 6 filings (21% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2025 BMW X7?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2025 BMW X7 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2025 BMW X7 get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2025 BMW X7 range from 18 to 22 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.