Defect Summary: Unicell Body Company Inc. (Unicell) is recalling certain 2017-2019 Chevrolet Express and GMC Savanna, 2018-2019 Hino 155, Ford Econoline and Transit and Isuzu NPR, and 2018 Ram ProMaster-based vehicles equipped with ASA Electronics Voyager monitors used to display the back-up camera image. The affected monitors may revert back to the factory default settings which may cause the camera image to be reversed.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2017 Chevrolet Express has zero owner defect complaints and 6 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.
EPA testing covers 3 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl and 6l 8-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 12 to 25 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 6 official campaigns
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 12–25 MPG across 3 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2017 Chevrolet Express?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| City Express Cargo Van | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (variable gear ratios) | 24 MPG | 26 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $2,450 / yr |
| Express 2500 2WD Passenger | 6L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 6-spd | 11 MPG | 16 MPG | 13 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| Express 3500 2WD Passenger | 6L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 6-spd | 11 MPG | 16 MPG | 12 MPG | — | $5,100 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2017 Chevrolet Express?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2017 Chevrolet Express.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2017 Chevrolet Express models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2017 Chevrolet Express?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2017 Chevrolet Express problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2017 Chevrolet Express?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: General Motors LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2016-2019 Chevrolet Express and GMC Savana vehicles. One or both of the rear-quarter windows may be tempered glass instead of laminated glass. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 226, "Ejection Mitigation."
Defect Summary: General Motors LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2016-2018 Chevrolet Express and GMC Sierra vehicles equipped with a single, manual, rear climate control module (CCM). If the temperature is set to maximum heat or the mode knob is set to maximum floor vent and an electrical short occurs, components within the CCM may overheat.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2017 Chevrolet Express
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2017 Chevrolet Express
How many safety recalls does the 2017 Chevrolet Express have?
The 2017 Chevrolet Express is associated with 6 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2017 Chevrolet Express?
AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2017 Chevrolet Express.
A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2017 Chevrolet Express?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2017 Chevrolet Express in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2017 Chevrolet Express get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2017 Chevrolet Express range from 12 to 25 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.