Defect Summary: General Motors, LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2026 Cadillac Escalade and Escalade ESV, Chevrolet Silverado 1500, Suburban, and Tahoe, and GMC Sierra 1500, Yukon, and Yukon XL vehicles with four-wheel (4WD) or all-wheel drive (AWD), and certain 2015-2020 Suburban, Escalade, Escalade ESV, Yukon, Yukon XL, and Tahoe vehicles. A component missing from the drivetrain transfer case may cause the front and/or rear wheels to lock up without warning to the driver.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2020 Chevrolet Suburban is associated with 42 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Powertrain, accounting for 7 reports (17% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 6 certified vehicle configurations spanning 5.3l 8-cyl and 6.2l 8-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 16 to 18 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 42 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Powertrain (7 / 17%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 2 crash / 1 fire / 0 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 16–18 MPG across 6 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suburban C1500 2WD | 5.3L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 6-spd | 15 MPG | 22 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $3,400 / yr |
| Suburban C1500 2WD | 5.3L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 6-spd | 15 MPG | 22 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $3,400 / yr |
| Suburban C1500 2WD | 6.2L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 14 MPG | 23 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| Suburban K1500 4WD | 5.3L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 6-spd | 14 MPG | 21 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $3,850 / yr |
| Suburban K1500 4WD | 6.2L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 10-spd | 14 MPG | 20 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| Suburban K1500 4WD | 5.3L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 6-spd | 14 MPG | 21 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $3,850 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Chevrolet Suburban models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban?
Summary of 42 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Chevrolet Suburban problems & component breakdown (24 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: General Motors LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2020 Buick Enclave, Cadillac XT4, XT5, Escalade, Escalade ESV, Chevrolet Suburban, Tahoe, Traverse, GMC Yukon, Yukon XL, 2018-2021 Chevrolet Express, GMC Savana, 2019-2020 Chevrolet Blazer, Silverado 1500, GMC Acadia, Sierra 1500, and certain Continental tires sold to the aftermarket for various model year 2018-2021 vehicles. The affected tires were cured for too long during production.
Defect Summary: General Motors LLC (GM) is recalling certain 2020 Cadillac Escalade, Escalade ESV, Chevrolet Camaro, Silverado 1500, Suburban, Tahoe, GMC Sierra 1500, Yukon, and Yukon XL vehicles. The fuel pump may be missing a pressure regulator, allowing for over-pressurization of the fuel system.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban
How many safety recalls does the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban have?
The 2020 Chevrolet Suburban is associated with 4 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban?
NHTSA records list 42 consumer defect complaints for the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Powertrain, appearing in 7 filings (17% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2020 Chevrolet Suburban range from 16 to 18 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.