The 2015 Ford C-Max is associated with 4 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 6 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is Back Over Prevention / Camera, accounting for 4 reports (100% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 2 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2L 4-Cyl hybrid and 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 39 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 88 MPGe (38 MPG on gasoline) with up to 20 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 4 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 6 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Back Over Prevention / Camera (4 / 100%)
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: 39 MPG (2 variants • PHEV up to 88 MPGe)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
39MPG
2 EPA certified variants (2L 4-Cyl hybrid and 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid configurations)
Reported Complaints
4
4 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
6
6 official NHTSA recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2015 Ford C-Max?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
C-MAX Hybrid FWD Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 41 MPG 36 MPG 39 MPG $1,600 / yr
C-MAX Energi Plug-in Hybrid Plug-in Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 95 MPGe (40 MPG) 81 MPGe (36 MPG) 88 MPGe (38 MPG) 20 mi EV (550 mi total) $1,600 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2015 Ford C-Max provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 20 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2015 Ford C-Max?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2015 Ford C-Max.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2015 Ford C-Max models.
View complete 2015 Ford C-Max crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2015 Ford C-Max?

Summary of 4 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
4
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Back Over Prevention / Camera 4 complaints

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2015 Ford C-Max problems & component breakdown (1 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2015 Ford C-Max?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #25V695000 Active Recall
Affected Component: BACK OVER PREVENTION: SENSING SYSTEM: CAMERA

Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2015-2019 Flex, 2015 Explorer, Lincoln MKT, Lincoln MKZ, 2015-2016 C-Max, Escape, Taurus, 2016 Fusion, 2018-2019 Taurus, 2019 Lincoln MKT, Fiesta, and 2020 Mustang vehicles. The rearview camera may display a distorted, intermittent, or blank image when the vehicle is in reverse.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will inspect and replace the rearview camera as necessary, free of charge. This will be a phased campaign, with the remedy becoming available in different phases based on model and model years. Interim letters notifying owners of the safety risk were mailed on October 25, 2025. Additional letters will be mailed once the final remedy is available on each phase. Mustang owner notification letters were mailed January 2, 2026. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 25SA9. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on October 14, 2025.
NHTSA Campaign #22V413000 Active Recall
Affected Component: POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:GEAR POSITION INDICATION (PRNDL)

Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2013-2019 Escape, 2013-2018 C-Max, 2013-2016 Fusion, 2013-2021 Transit Connect, and 2015-2018 Edge vehicles. The bushing that attaches the shifter cable to the transmission may degrade or detach.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will replace the under hood shift bushing and add a protective cap over the shift cable bushing, free of charge. Interim owner notification letters, informing owners of the safety risk, were mailed July 1, 2022. Remedy parts are expected to be available in 4th Quarter 2022. Owner notification letters were mailed October 27, 2022. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 22S43.
NHTSA Campaign #20V331000 Active Recall
Affected Component: LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES:DOORS:LATCH

Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2011-2014 Fiesta, 2013-2014 Fusion, 2015 Mustang, 2013-2015 Escape and C-Max, 2012-2015 Focus, 2014-2016 Transit Connect, 2013-2014 Lincoln MKZ, and 2015 MKC vehicles. These vehicles were previously recalled and repaired under recalls 15V-246, 16V-643 or 17V-210, however the repair may not have been completed properly. A component within the door latches may break making the doors difficult to latch and/or leading the driver or a passenger to believe a door is securely closed when, in fact, it is not.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Ford will notify owners, and dealers will inspect the latch date codes to confirm if the repair was done correctly, and replace the side door latches if necessary, free of charge. Owners will also have the option to inspect their own vehicle's door latches and enter the date codes into a website to determine if the latches are correct. Owner notification letters were mailed on July 27, 2020. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 20S30.
View all 2015 Ford C-Max recalls & campaign history (6 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.