Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2018-2022 Transit Connect, 2019-2020 MKZ, MKX, Edge, Continental, F-150, Nautilus, Fusion, 2019-2023 Ranger, Mustang, 2020-2021 EcoSport, Expedition, Navigator, 2020-2022 Escape, F-250 SD, Corsair, 2020-2023 Aviator, Transit, 2020-2024 Explorer, 2021-2024 Bronco Sport, and 2022-2024 Maverick vehicles. A software error may cause the rearview camera to display a blank image, or the image may remain on the display after the backing event has ended.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2022 Ford Transit Connect is associated with 5 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 1 reports (20% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 7 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl and 2.5l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 22 to 26 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 5 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 official campaign
- • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (1 / 20%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 0 crash / 1 fire / 0 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 22–26 MPG across 7 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2022 Ford Transit Connect?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transit Connect Wagon LWB FWD | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 24 MPG | 28 MPG | 26 MPG | — | $2,350 / yr |
| Transit Connect Wagon LWB FFV | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 24 MPG | 28 MPG | 26 MPG | — | $2,350 / yr |
| Transit Connect Van FWD | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 24 MPG | 27 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $2,450 / yr |
| Transit Connect Van FFV | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 24 MPG | 27 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $2,450 / yr |
| Transit Connect Van FWD | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S6) | 20 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $2,800 / yr |
| Transit Connect Wagon LWB FWD | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S6) | 20 MPG | 26 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $2,800 / yr |
| Transit Connect USPS | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S6) | 20 MPG | 27 MPG | 22 MPG | — | $2,800 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2022 Ford Transit Connect?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2022 Ford Transit Connect.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2022 Ford Transit Connect models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2022 Ford Transit Connect?
Summary of 5 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2022 Ford Transit Connect problems & component breakdown (5 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2022 Ford Transit Connect?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2022 Ford Transit Connect
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2022 Ford Transit Connect
How many safety recalls does the 2022 Ford Transit Connect have?
The 2022 Ford Transit Connect is associated with 1 official NHTSA safety recall campaign in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2022 Ford Transit Connect?
NHTSA records list 5 consumer defect complaints for the 2022 Ford Transit Connect. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 1 filings (20% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2022 Ford Transit Connect?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2022 Ford Transit Connect in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2022 Ford Transit Connect get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2022 Ford Transit Connect range from 22 to 26 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.