Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2026 Genesis GV70 has zero owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.

EPA testing covers 5 certified vehicle configurations spanning all-electric, 2.5l 4-cyl, and 3.5l 6-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 21 to 23 MPG combined. All-electric variants deliver up to 96 MPGe with an estimated range of 263 miles. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 official campaigns
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 21–23 MPG across 5 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Genesis GV70?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Electrified GV70 AWD (19 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 103 MPGe 88 MPGe 96 MPGe 263 mi $800 / yr
Electrified GV70 AWD (20 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 96 MPGe 80 MPGe 88 MPGe 243 mi $850 / yr
GV70 AWD (4 Mode) 2.5L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 20 MPG 28 MPG 23 MPG — $3,300 / yr
GV70 AWD (5 Mode) 2.5L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 20 MPG 26 MPG 22 MPG — $3,450 / yr
GV70 AWD 3.5L 6-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 18 MPG 25 MPG 21 MPG — $3,600 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2026 Genesis GV70 provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 263 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Genesis GV70?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Genesis GV70.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Genesis GV70 models.
View complete 2026 Genesis GV70 crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Genesis GV70?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2026 Genesis GV70 problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Genesis GV70?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V229000 Active Recall
Affected Component: FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Genesis) is recalling certain Genesis 2022-2026 GV70, 2023-2025 G90, 2021-2025 G80, and GV80 vehicles. Fuel may leak at the pipe connection between the fuel pipe and fuel rail.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will inspect and tighten, or replace the fuel pipe as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed beginning July 20, 2026. Owners may contact Genesis customer service at 844-340-9741. Genesis' number for this recall is 033G. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov beginning April 11, 2026.
NHTSA Campaign #26V019000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT CLUSTER/PANEL

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain Genesis 2025-2026 G80, GV80, 2026 G80 "Electrified," GV60, GV70 "Electrified" and GV70 vehicles. Due to a software error, the instrument panel display may fail. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 101, "Controls and Displays."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Owners are advised to disable the high definition (HD) radio feature until the recall remedy has been performed. The audio video navigation software will be updated over-the-air (OTA) or inspected and updated by a dealer, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed beginning February 17, 2026. Owners may contact Genesis customer service at 844-340-9741. Hyundai's number for this recall is 031G. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov beginning January 17, 2026.
NHTSA Campaign #25V809000 Active Recall
Affected Component: AIR BAGS:SIDE/WINDOW:CURTAIN

Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2025 Tucson, 2025-2026 Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Santa Fe Hybrid, and 2026 Genesis GV70 vehicles. The side curtain air bags may not have been installed properly, which can cause the air bags not to deploy as intended.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will reinstall the side curtain air bags, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed beginning December 29, 2025. Owners may contact Hyundai customer service at 1-855-371-9460. Hyundai's numbers for this recall are 289 and 029G. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on November 22, 2025.
View all 2026 Genesis GV70 recalls & campaign history (3 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Genesis GV70

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Genesis GV70

How many safety recalls does the 2026 Genesis GV70 have?

The 2026 Genesis GV70 is associated with 3 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Genesis GV70?

AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Genesis GV70.

A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Genesis GV70?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Genesis GV70 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 Genesis GV70 get?

Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 Genesis GV70 range from 21 to 23 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.

Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.