Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2025-2026 IONIQ 5 and 2026 IONIQ 9 vehicles. The high voltage battery system may contain an improperly tightened bus bar, which can cause a short-circuit.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5 has zero owner defect complaints and 2 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.
EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 71 to 115 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 168–318 miles across 7 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 2 official campaigns
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 71 MPGe across 7 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ioniq 5 AWD (19inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 116 MPGe | 96 MPGe | 106 MPGe | 290 mi | $700 / yr |
| Ioniq 5 AWD (20inch Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 108 MPGe | 88 MPGe | 98 MPGe | 269 mi | $800 / yr |
| Ioniq 5 Standard range 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 131 MPGe | 100 MPGe | 115 MPGe | 245 mi | $650 / yr |
| Ioniq 5 RWD 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 129 MPGe | 100 MPGe | 114 MPGe | 318 mi | $700 / yr |
| Ioniq 5 AWD XRT 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 103 MPGe | 85 MPGe | 94 MPGe | 259 mi | $800 / yr |
| Ioniq 5 N 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 84 MPGe | 72 MPGe | 78 MPGe | 221 mi | $950 / yr |
| Ioniq 5 Robo taxi 100% Electric | Electric Motor | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 73 MPGe | 69 MPGe | 71 MPGe | 168 mi | $1,050 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5 problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Hyundai Motor America (Hyundai) is recalling certain 2025-2026 Tucson Hybrid, Tucson Plug-In Hybrid Electric (PHEV), 2026 IONIQ 5, Santa Cruz, Kona, Palisade, Palisade Hybrid, Santa Fe, Santa Fe Hybrid, Sonata, Sonata Hybrid, and Tucson vehicles. Due to a software error, the instrument panel display may fail. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 101, "Controls and Displays."
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5
How many safety recalls does the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5 have?
The 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5 is associated with 2 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5?
AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5.
A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What is the electric driving range of the 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5?
The all-electric 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5 is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 168 to 318 miles per full charge across certified configurations.
Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 115 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.