Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2026 Jeep Cherokee has zero owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.

EPA testing covers 10 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl, 3.6l 6-cyl, 1.6L 4-Cyl hybrid, and 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 21 to 37 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 56 MPGe (23 MPG on gasoline) with up to 26 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 official campaigns
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 21–37 MPG across 10 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Jeep Cherokee?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Grand Cherokee L 2WD 2L 4-Cyl Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 21 MPG 26 MPG 23 MPG — $2,650 / yr
Grand Cherokee 2WD 2L 4-Cyl Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 21 MPG 27 MPG 23 MPG — $2,650 / yr
Grand Cherokee 2WD 3.6L 6-Cyl Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 19 MPG 26 MPG 22 MPG — $2,800 / yr
Grand Cherokee L 2WD 3.6L 6-Cyl Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 19 MPG 26 MPG 21 MPG — $2,950 / yr
Grand Cherokee L 4WD 2L 4-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 20 MPG 25 MPG 22 MPG — $2,800 / yr
Grand Cherokee L 4WD 3.6L 6-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 18 MPG 25 MPG 21 MPG — $2,950 / yr
Cherokee AWD Hybrid 1.6L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 39 MPG 35 MPG 37 MPG — $1,650 / yr
Grand Cherokee 4xe Plug-in Hybrid 2L 4-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 57 MPGe (23 MPG) 56 MPGe (24 MPG) 56 MPGe (23 MPG) 26 mi EV (470 mi total) $2,650 / yr
Grand Cherokee 4WD 2L 4-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 20 MPG 25 MPG 22 MPG — $2,800 / yr
Grand Cherokee 4WD 3.6L 6-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 19 MPG 26 MPG 22 MPG — $2,800 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2026 Jeep Cherokee provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 26 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Jeep Cherokee?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Jeep Cherokee.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Jeep Cherokee models.
View complete 2026 Jeep Cherokee crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Jeep Cherokee?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2026 Jeep Cherokee problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Jeep Cherokee?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V531000 Active Recall
Affected Component: BACK OVER PREVENTION: SENSING SYSTEM: CAMERA

Defect Summary: Chrysler (FCA US, LLC) is recalling certain 2026 Jeep Wrangler, Jeep Gladiator, Jeep Compass, Jeep Cherokee, Jeep Grand Cherokee, Jeep Grand Cherokee L, Jeep Grand Wagoneer, Jeep Grand Wagoneer L, Ram Promaster, Ram Promaster EV, Ram 1500, Ram 2500, Chrysler Pacifica Plug-In Hybrid, Chrysler Voyager, and 2026-2027 Chrysler Pacifica and Dodge Charger vehicles. The rearview camera image may fail to display when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Radio software will be updated by a dealer or through an over-the-air (OTA) update, free of charge. Owner notification letters are expected to be mailed beginning September 1, 2026. Owners may contact Chrysler customer service at 800-853-1403. Chrysler's number for this recall is 78D. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will be searchable on NHTSA.gov on August 20, 2026.
NHTSA Campaign #26V223000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC)

Defect Summary: Chrysler (FCA US, LLC) is recalling certain 2026 Jeep Cherokee vehicles. The brake system control module may fail to operate properly, which can cause a loss of anti-lock brakes (ABS) and electronic stability control (ESC).

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will update the brake system control module software, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed April 28, 2026. Owners may contact FCA customer service at 1-800-853-1403. FCA's number for this recall is 29D. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will become searchable on NHTSA.gov beginning April 16, 2026.
NHTSA Campaign #26V059000 Active Recall
Affected Component: EXTERIOR LIGHTING:BRAKE LIGHTS

Defect Summary: Chrysler (FCA US, LLC) is recalling certain 2024-2026 Jeep Wagoneer S, 2025-2026 Ram 1500 Pickup, Ram 2500 Pickup, Ram 3500 Pickup, Ram 3500 Cab Chassis, Ram 4500 Cab Chassis, Ram 5500 Cab Chassis, and 2026 Jeep Cherokee vehicles. Due to an improperly designed trailer tow module, the trailer lights may fail to illuminate and the trailer brakes may fail.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will replace the trailer tow module, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed beginning March 17, 2026. Owners may contact FCA US, LLC customer service at 1-800-853-1403. FCA US, LLC's number for this recall is 03D. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on February 10, 2026.
View all 2026 Jeep Cherokee recalls & campaign history (3 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Jeep Cherokee

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Jeep Cherokee

How many safety recalls does the 2026 Jeep Cherokee have?

The 2026 Jeep Cherokee is associated with 3 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Jeep Cherokee?

AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Jeep Cherokee.

A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Jeep Cherokee?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Jeep Cherokee in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 Jeep Cherokee get?

Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 Jeep Cherokee range from 21 to 37 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.

Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.