Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2026 Kia K4 has zero owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign on file with NHTSA.

EPA testing covers 5 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl and 1.6l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 28 to 33 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 official campaign
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 28–33 MPG across 5 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Kia K4?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
K4 4DR w/ DMS 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (AV-S1) 29 MPG 39 MPG 33 MPG — $1,850 / yr
K4 without DMS 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (AV-S1) 29 MPG 39 MPG 33 MPG — $1,850 / yr
K4 Hatchback 2L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (AV-S1) 28 MPG 34 MPG 30 MPG — $2,050 / yr
K4 1.6L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 26 MPG 33 MPG 28 MPG — $2,200 / yr
K4 Hatchback 1.6L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 26 MPG 33 MPG 28 MPG — $2,200 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Kia K4?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Kia K4.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Kia K4 models.
View complete 2026 Kia K4 crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Kia K4?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2026 Kia K4 problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Kia K4?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V135000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SEAT BELTS:REAR/OTHER:ANCHORAGE

Defect Summary: Kia America, Inc (Kia) is recalling certain 2027 Kia Telluride and 2026 Kia K4 vehicles. The rear center seat belt anchor buckle in the 2026 K4 and the third-row center seat belt anchor buckle in the 2027 Telluride may not latch properly.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will inspect and replace the anchor buckle assembly, as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed May 5, 2026. Owners may contact Kia at 1-800-333-4542. Kia's number for this recall is SC364. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will become searchable on NHTSA.gov beginning March 20, 2026.
View all 2026 Kia K4 recalls & campaign history (1 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Kia K4

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Kia K4

How many safety recalls does the 2026 Kia K4 have?

The 2026 Kia K4 is associated with 1 official NHTSA safety recall campaign in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Kia K4?

AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Kia K4.

A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Kia K4?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Kia K4 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 Kia K4 get?

Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 Kia K4 range from 28 to 33 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.

Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.