Defect Summary: Jaguar Land Rover North America, LLC (Land Rover) is recalling certain 2020-2026 Land Rover Defender, 2021-2026 Discovery, and 2022-2026 Range Rover vehicles. The driver’s air bag clockspring connector may corrode, which can cause the air bag not to deploy as intended.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2025 Land Rover Defender is associated with 12 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 2 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Visibility & Wipers, accounting for 7 reports (58% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 11 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2l 4-cyl, 3L 6-Cyl hybrid, 4.4L 8-Cyl hybrid, and 5l 8-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 16 to 19 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 12 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 2 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Visibility & Wipers (7 / 58%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 0 crash / 1 fire / 0 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 16–19 MPG across 11 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 Land Rover Defender?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Defender 110 | 2L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 18 MPG | 20 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
| Defender 90 | 2L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 18 MPG | 21 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
| Defender 110 MHEV Hybrid | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 18 MPG | 20 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
| Defender 90 MHEV Hybrid | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 18 MPG | 21 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
| Defender 130 P400 MHEV Hybrid | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 18 MPG | 20 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
| Defender 130 P300 MHEV Hybrid | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 17 MPG | 20 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $4,200 / yr |
| Defender 130 Outbound Hybrid | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 16 MPG | 19 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $4,200 / yr |
| Defender 110 MHEV Hybrid | 4.4L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 15 MPG | 19 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| Defender 90 | 5L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 15 MPG | 19 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| Defender 110 | 5L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 14 MPG | 18 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
| Defender 130 | 5L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 14 MPG | 19 MPG | 16 MPG | — | $4,750 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 Land Rover Defender?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 Land Rover Defender.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 Land Rover Defender models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 Land Rover Defender?
Summary of 12 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2025 Land Rover Defender problems & component breakdown (6 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 Land Rover Defender?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Jaguar Land Rover North America, LLC (Land Rover) is recalling certain 2020-2025 Land Rover Defender vehicles equipped with Raised Air Intake (RAI) aftermarket accessory equipment, with part number VPLEP0543. The raised air intake may not be secured properly, which can allow the intake to detach from the vehicle.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2025 Land Rover Defender
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2025 Land Rover Defender
How many safety recalls does the 2025 Land Rover Defender have?
The 2025 Land Rover Defender is associated with 2 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2025 Land Rover Defender?
NHTSA records list 12 consumer defect complaints for the 2025 Land Rover Defender. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Visibility & Wipers, appearing in 7 filings (58% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2025 Land Rover Defender?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2025 Land Rover Defender in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2025 Land Rover Defender get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2025 Land Rover Defender range from 16 to 19 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.