Defect Summary: Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC (MBUSA) is recalling certain 2017-2022 CLA-Class, GLA-Class, GLE-Class, GLS-Class, SLC-Class, A-Class, AMG GT-Class, C-Class, E-Class, S-Class, SL-Class, GLC-Class, CLS-Class, GLB-Class, and G-Class vehicles. Please refer to MBUSA's recall report for specific vehicle model details. An error in the communication module's SIM card software can cause a mobile network connection failure, disabling the emergency call (eCall) system.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT has zero owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.
EPA testing covers 9 certified vehicle configurations spanning 3L 6-Cyl hybrid and 4l 8-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 17 to 21 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 official campaigns
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 17–21 MPG across 9 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMG GT 53 4matic Plus Hybrid | 3L 6-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 9-spd | 19 MPG | 24 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| AMG GT Coupe | 4L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM7) | 16 MPG | 22 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $4,200 / yr |
| AMG GT Roadster | 4L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM7) | 16 MPG | 22 MPG | 18 MPG | — | $4,200 / yr |
| AMG GT C Coupe | 4L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM7) | 15 MPG | 21 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| AMG GT C Roadster | 4L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM7) | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| AMG GT R Coupe | 4L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM7) | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| AMG GT R Roadster | 4L 8-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM7) | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| AMG GT 63 4matic Plus | 4L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 9-spd | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| AMG GT 63 S 4matic Plus | 4L 8-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 9-spd | 15 MPG | 20 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC (MBUSA) is recalling certain 2016 - 2021 CLA-Class, GLA-Class, GLE-Class, GLS-Class, SLC-Class, A-Class, GT-Class, C-Class, E-Class, S-Class, CLS-Class, SL-Class, B-Class, GLB-Class, GLC-Class, and G-Class vehicles. Please refer to the Part 573 report for specific vehicle model details. The software design of the communication module may fail to communicate the correct vehicle location for the emergency call system (eCall) in the event of a crash.
Defect Summary: Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC (MBUSA) is recalling certain 2020 AMG GT vehicles. The headlights may have been incorrectly aimed too high. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 108, "Lamp, Reflective Devices and Associated Equipment."
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT
How many safety recalls does the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT have?
The 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT is associated with 4 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT?
AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT.
A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2020 Mercedes-Benz AMG GT range from 17 to 21 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.