Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class has zero owner defect complaints and zero safety recall campaigns recorded in the current AutoUtility NHTSA dataset.

EPA testing covers 9 certified vehicle configurations spanning all-electric, 3L 6-Cyl hybrid, 4L 8-Cyl hybrid, and 6l 12-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 15 to 23 MPG combined. All-electric variants deliver up to 93 MPGe with an estimated range of 371 miles. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year. The 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class belongs to the 7th generation (W223) S-Class platform spanning model years 2021–2026.

Platform Architecture: 7th Generation (W223) • Production Span: 2021–2026 • Platform Code: MRA II • Lifecycle Note: Initial Launch (2021–2026)
Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 0 official campaigns
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 15–23 MPG across 9 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
EQS 580 4matic 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 93 MPGe 93 MPGe 93 MPGe 371 mi $800 / yr
EQS 680 4matic Maybach (SUV) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 84 MPGe 84 MPGe 84 MPGe 300 mi $900 / yr
S500 4matic Hybrid 3L 6-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 20 MPG 29 MPG 23 MPG — $3,300 / yr
GLS450 4matic Hybrid 3L 6-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 19 MPG 24 MPG 21 MPG — $3,600 / yr
S580 4matic Maybach Hybrid 4L 8-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 16 MPG 27 MPG 20 MPG — $3,800 / yr
S580 4matic Hybrid 4L 8-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 17 MPG 27 MPG 20 MPG — $3,800 / yr
GLS580 4matic Hybrid 4L 8-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 14 MPG 20 MPG 16 MPG — $4,750 / yr
Maybach S680 4matic 6L 12-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 12 MPG 20 MPG 15 MPG — $5,050 / yr
GLS600 4matic Maybach Hybrid 4L 8-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 9-spd 13 MPG 18 MPG 15 MPG — $5,050 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 371 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class models.
View complete 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

No open safety recall campaigns are currently on file with NHTSA for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class.

View all 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class recalls & campaign history (0 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class

How many safety recalls does the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class have?

AutoUtility's current federal dataset records zero official NHTSA safety recall campaigns for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class.

Recall records can change as manufacturers and NHTSA publish or update campaign notices.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class.

A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class get?

Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 Mercedes-Benz S-Class range from 15 to 23 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.

Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.