Defect Summary: Porsche Cars North America, Inc. (Porsche) is recalling certain 2019-2025 Cayenne, Cayenne E-Hybrid, 2020-2025 911, Taycan, 2024-2025 Panamera, and 2025 Panamera E-Hybrid vehicles. The rearview camera image may not display when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."
The 2020 Porsche 911 is associated with 4 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 7 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database. The most frequently reported component area is EXTERIOR LIGHTING, accounting for 1 reports (25% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 25 certified vehicle configurations spanning all-electric, 4l 8-cyl, 4L 8-Cyl plug-in hybrid, 3l 6-cyl, and 2.9l 6-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 17 to 21 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 48 MPGe (18–20 MPG on gasoline) with up to 14 miles of electric driving range. All-electric variants deliver up to 69 MPGe with an estimated range of 201 miles. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year. The 2020 Porsche 911 belongs to the 8th generation (992) 911 platform spanning model years 2019–2026.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 4 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 7 campaigns
- • Top Reported Defect Area: EXTERIOR LIGHTING (1 / 25%)
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 17–21 MPG (25 variants • PHEV up to 48 MPGe)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Porsche 911?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Taycan Turbo 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A2) | 68 MPGe | 71 MPGe | 69 MPGe | 201 mi | $1,100 / yr |
| Taycan Turbo S 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A2) | 67 MPGe | 68 MPGe | 68 MPGe | 192 mi | $1,100 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 25 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo Exec | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 25 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo S e-Hybrid Plug-in Hybrid | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 46 MPGe (19 MPG) | 51 MPGe (22 MPG) | 48 MPGe (20 MPG) | 14 mi EV (450 mi total) | $3,800 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo S e-Hybrid Executive Plug-in Hybrid | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 46 MPGe (19 MPG) | 51 MPGe (22 MPG) | 48 MPGe (20 MPG) | 14 mi EV (450 mi total) | $3,800 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo S e-Hybrid ST Plug-in Hybrid | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 46 MPGe (19 MPG) | 51 MPGe (22 MPG) | 48 MPGe (20 MPG) | 14 mi EV (450 mi total) | $3,800 / yr |
| Panamera Turbo ST | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 23 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera S | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera S Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 23 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4S | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 23 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4S Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 23 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 17 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera S | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 17 MPG | 25 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera S Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | Rear-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 17 MPG | 25 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4 Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S8) | 18 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4S | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 17 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| 911 Carrera 4S Cabriolet | 3L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Manual 7-spd | 17 MPG | 24 MPG | 20 MPG | — | $3,800 / yr |
| Macan Turbo | 2.9L 6-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AM-S7) | 17 MPG | 22 MPG | 19 MPG | — | $4,000 / yr |
| Cayenne Turbo S e-Hybrid Plug-in Hybrid | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 34 MPGe (16 MPG) | 46 MPGe (20 MPG) | 39 MPGe (18 MPG) | 12 mi EV (360 mi total) | $4,200 / yr |
| Cayenne Turbo S e-Hybrid Coupe Plug-in Hybrid | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 34 MPGe (16 MPG) | 46 MPGe (20 MPG) | 39 MPGe (18 MPG) | 12 mi EV (360 mi total) | $4,200 / yr |
| Cayenne Turbo | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 15 MPG | 19 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
| Cayenne Turbo Coupe | 4L 8-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 15 MPG | 19 MPG | 17 MPG | — | $4,450 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Porsche 911?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Porsche 911.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Porsche 911 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Porsche 911?
Summary of 4 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Porsche 911 problems & component breakdown (4 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Porsche 911?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Porsche Cars North America, Inc. (Porsche) is recalling certain 2020-2024 911 vehicles. The front windshield and rear window may not be properly secured and can detach.
Defect Summary: Porsche Cars North America, Inc. (Porsche) is recalling certain 2020-2021 911 Carrera and Taycan vehicles. The pressure input rod connection on the brake booster may be loose and could detach.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.