Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2025 Tesla Cybertruck is associated with 23 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 3 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.

The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 3 reports (13% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 78 to 82 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 325–335 miles across 3 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 23 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 3 official campaigns
  • • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (3 / 13%)
  • • Field Incident Signals: 2 crash / 0 fire / 2 injury reports
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 78 MPGe across 3 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Cybertruck Long Range 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 93 MPGe 72 MPGe 82 MPGe 335 mi $900 / yr
Cybertruck AWD 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 85 MPGe 72 MPGe 79 MPGe 325 mi $950 / yr
Cybertruck Long Range (20in Cyber wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 89 MPGe 67 MPGe 78 MPGe 335 mi $1,000 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2025 Tesla Cybertruck provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 335 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 Tesla Cybertruck models.
View complete 2025 Tesla Cybertruck crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck?

Summary of 23 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
23
Crash Reports
2
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
2
Total Injuries
2

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Electrical System 3 complaints
Structure & Body 3 complaints
AIR BAGS,SEAT BELTS,SEATS 1 complaint
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,UNKNOWN OR OTHER 1 complaint
Forward Collision Avoidance 1 complaint (1 crash)

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2025 Tesla Cybertruck problems & component breakdown (19 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V255000 Active Recall
Affected Component: WHEELS:LUGS/NUTS/BOLTS/STUDS

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2024-2026 Cybertruck vehicles equipped with 18-inch steel wheels. The brake rotor stud holes may crack and allow the stud to separate from the wheel hub.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla Service will replace the front and rear brake rotors, hubs, and lug nuts, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed June 20, 2026. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-26-33-003.
NHTSA Campaign #25V699000 Active Recall
Affected Component: EXTERIOR LIGHTING

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2024-2026 Cybertruck vehicles operating software prior to 2025.38.3. The vehicle controller software may cause the front parking lights to be too bright and exceed the maximum light output, adversely affecting the vision of other drivers. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 108, "Lamps, Reflective Devices, and Associated Equipment."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla released an over-the-air (OTA) software update, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed December 12, 2025. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-25-00-008.
NHTSA Campaign #25V170000 Active Recall
Affected Component: STRUCTURE:BODY

Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2024-2025 Cybertruck vehicles. The light bar can delaminate and detach from the vehicle.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Tesla service will replace the cant rail assembly, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed September 19, 2025. Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-25-10-001.
View all 2025 Tesla Cybertruck recalls & campaign history (3 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck

How many safety recalls does the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck have?

The 2025 Tesla Cybertruck is associated with 3 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck?

NHTSA records list 23 consumer defect complaints for the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 3 filings (13% of submissions).

Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What is the electric driving range of the 2025 Tesla Cybertruck?

The all-electric 2025 Tesla Cybertruck is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 325 to 335 miles per full charge across certified configurations.

Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 82 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.