The 2026 Toyota RAV4 has 18 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and zero open safety recall campaigns recorded in the federal database. The most frequently reported component area is Other / Uncategorized, accounting for 7 reports (39% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 6 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2.5L 4-Cyl hybrid powertrain configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 38 to 43 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year. The 2026 Toyota RAV4 belongs to the 5th generation (XA50) RAV4 platform spanning model years 2019–2026.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 18 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 0 campaigns
- • Top Reported Defect Area: Other / Uncategorized (7 / 39%)
- • Safety Incident Signals: 2 crash / 0 fire / 2 injury reports
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 38–43 MPG (6 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Toyota RAV4?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RAV4 Hybrid | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AV-S6) | 47 MPG | 40 MPG | 43 MPG | — | $1,450 / yr |
| RAV4 AWD SE & LE Hybrid | 2.5L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AV-S6) | 46 MPG | 39 MPG | 42 MPG | — | $1,450 / yr |
| RAV4 AWD Limited & XSE Hybrid | 2.5L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (variable gear ratios) | 43 MPG | 37 MPG | 41 MPG | — | $1,500 / yr |
| RAV4 AWD Limited & XSE Hybrid | 2.5L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AV-S6) | 43 MPG | 37 MPG | 41 MPG | — | $1,500 / yr |
| RAV4 AWD XLE Hybrid | 2.5L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AV-S6) | 45 MPG | 38 MPG | 41 MPG | — | $1,500 / yr |
| RAV4 Hybrid AWD Woodland Edition Hybrid | 2.5L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (AV-S6) | 41 MPG | 35 MPG | 38 MPG | — | $1,600 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Toyota RAV4?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Toyota RAV4.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Toyota RAV4 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Toyota RAV4?
Summary of 18 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 Toyota RAV4 problems & component breakdown (12 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Toyota RAV4?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
No open safety recall campaigns are currently on file with NHTSA for the 2026 Toyota RAV4.
View all 2026 Toyota RAV4 recalls & campaign history (0 campaigns) →The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.