Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2020-2021 S90, 2020-2022 S60, V60, XC60, XC90, and 2022 V90 plug-in hybrid vehicles. The high-voltage battery may experience a short circuit within the battery module when the battery is fully charged and the vehicle is parked.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2020 Volvo XC90 is associated with 30 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 7 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Service Brakes, accounting for 3 reports (10% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 4 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 21 to 25 MPG combined. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 55 MPGe (27 MPG on gasoline) with up to 18 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 30 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 7 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Service Brakes (3 / 10%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 2 crash / 2 fire / 0 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 21–25 MPG across 4 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Volvo XC90?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XC90 AWD PHEV Plug-in Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 58 MPGe (26 MPG) | 52 MPGe (28 MPG) | 55 MPGe (27 MPG) | 18 mi EV (520 mi total) | $2,800 / yr |
| XC90 FWD | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 21 MPG | 30 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $3,050 / yr |
| XC90 AWD | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 20 MPG | 27 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $3,300 / yr |
| XC90 AWD | 2L 4-Cyl | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 18 MPG | 26 MPG | 21 MPG | — | $3,600 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Volvo XC90?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Volvo XC90.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Volvo XC90 models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Volvo XC90?
Summary of 30 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Volvo XC90 problems & component breakdown (22 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Volvo XC90?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2015-2024 XC90 vehicles. The second-row seat belt buckle and lower belt anchor bolts may not be tightened properly.
Defect Summary: Volvo Car USA, LLC (Volvo Car) is recalling certain 2019-2022 V60CC, XC60, and XC90 vehicles. During steering gear assembly, double screws may have been assembled on top of each other, which can cause a screw to fall into the gearbox housing.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2020 Volvo XC90
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2020 Volvo XC90
How many safety recalls does the 2020 Volvo XC90 have?
The 2020 Volvo XC90 is associated with 7 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2020 Volvo XC90?
NHTSA records list 30 consumer defect complaints for the 2020 Volvo XC90. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Service Brakes, appearing in 3 filings (10% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2020 Volvo XC90?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2020 Volvo XC90 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2020 Volvo XC90 get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2020 Volvo XC90 range from 21 to 25 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.