Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2025 BMW i7 is associated with 1 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 2 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.

The most frequently reported component area is AIR BAGS,SERVICE BRAKES,FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE, accounting for 1 reports (100% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 75 to 88 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 268–314 miles across 8 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 1 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 2 official campaigns
  • • Primary Defect Domain: AIR BAGS,SERVICE BRAKES,FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE (1 / 100%)
  • • Field Incident Signals: 1 crash / 0 fire / 1 injury reports
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 75 MPGe across 8 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 BMW i7?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
i7 eDrive50 Sedan (19 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 85 MPGe 93 MPGe 88 MPGe 314 mi $850 / yr
i7 xDrive60 Sedan (19 inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 85 MPGe 91 MPGe 88 MPGe 311 mi $850 / yr
i7 xDrive60 Sedan (21inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 85 MPGe 89 MPGe 87 MPGe 308 mi $850 / yr
i7 eDrive50 Sedan (21 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 84 MPGe 90 MPGe 87 MPGe 307 mi $900 / yr
i7 eDrive50 Sedan (20 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor Rear-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 82 MPGe 88 MPGe 85 MPGe 301 mi $900 / yr
i7 xDrive60 Sedan (20 inch wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 81 MPGe 85 MPGe 83 MPGe 296 mi $900 / yr
i7 M70 xDrive Sedan (21 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 77 MPGe 83 MPGe 79 MPGe 285 mi $950 / yr
i7 M70 xDrive Sedan (20 inch Wheels) 100% Electric Electric Motor All-Wheel Drive Automatic (A1) 72 MPGe 79 MPGe 75 MPGe 268 mi $1,000 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2025 BMW i7 provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 314 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 BMW i7?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 BMW i7.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 BMW i7 models.
View complete 2025 BMW i7 crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 BMW i7?

Summary of 1 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
1
Crash Reports
1
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
1
Total Injuries
1

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

AIR BAGS,SERVICE BRAKES,FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE 1 complaint (1 crash)

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2025 BMW i7 problems & component breakdown (1 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 BMW i7?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V422000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:POWER ASSIST:ELECTRIC:CONTROL MODULE

Defect Summary: BMW of North America, LLC (BMW) is recalling certain 2025 Mini Cooper S, Mini Countryman S All4, X2, 2024 Rolls-Royce Spectre, 2023-2025 i7, 7 Series, X7, 2024-2025 i5, 5 Series, 2023-2024 XM, X1, 2024-2025 X6, and X5 vehicles. The integrated brake (IB) system may malfunction and result in a loss of power brake assist or cause the Antilock Brake (ABS) and Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) systems to not function properly.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: The Integrated brake system will be inspected and, if necessary, replaced, free of charge. Owner notification letters are expected to be mailed August 21, 2026. Owners may contact BMW customer service at 1-800-525-7417 or Rolls-Royce customer service at 1-877-877-3735. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will become searchable on NHTSA.gov beginning August 21, 2026. Vehicles previously repaired under recall 24V739 or 24V104 will need to have the new remedy completed.
NHTSA Campaign #24V104000 Active Recall
Affected Component: ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL (ESC)

Defect Summary: BMW of North America, LLC. (BMW) is recalling certain 2023-2025 BMW, MINI, and Rolls-Royce vehicles. Please see the recall report for a complete list of models and model years. The integrated brake (IB) system may malfunction and result in a loss of power brake assist or cause the Antilock Brake (ABS) and Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) systems to not function properly.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will replace the integrated brake system, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed between June and December 2024. Owners may contact BMW customer service at 1-800-525-7417 or Rolls Royce customer service at 1-877-877-3735.
View all 2025 BMW i7 recalls & campaign history (2 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2025 BMW i7

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2025 BMW i7

How many safety recalls does the 2025 BMW i7 have?

The 2025 BMW i7 is associated with 2 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2025 BMW i7?

NHTSA records list 1 consumer defect complaint for the 2025 BMW i7. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is AIR BAGS,SERVICE BRAKES,FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE, appearing in 1 filings (100% of submissions).

Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2025 BMW i7?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2025 BMW i7 in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What is the electric driving range of the 2025 BMW i7?

The all-electric 2025 BMW i7 is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 268 to 314 miles per full charge across certified configurations.

Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 88 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.