Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2021-2026 Bronco Sport and 2022-2026 Maverick vehicles. The front lower control arm ball joints may have been incorrectly installed or incorrectly repaired at the vehicle assembly plant, allowing the control arm to disconnect from the front wheel knuckle.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2026 Ford Maverick has zero owner defect complaints and 6 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA.
EPA testing covers 7 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2.5L 4-Cyl hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 23 to 38 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 6 official campaigns
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 23–38 MPG across 7 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 Ford Maverick?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maverick Lariat HEV AWD Hybrid | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Part-time 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (variable gear ratios) | 39 MPG | 32 MPG | 36 MPG | — | $1,700 / yr |
| Maverick HEV FWD Hybrid | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (variable gear ratios) | 42 MPG | 35 MPG | 38 MPG | — | $1,600 / yr |
| Maverick HEV AWD Hybrid | 2.5L 4-Cyl | Part-time 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (variable gear ratios) | 40 MPG | 34 MPG | 37 MPG | — | $1,650 / yr |
| Maverick FWD | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 23 MPG | 32 MPG | 26 MPG | — | $2,350 / yr |
| Maverick AWD | 2L 4-Cyl | Part-time 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic 8-spd | 22 MPG | 30 MPG | 25 MPG | — | $2,450 / yr |
| Maverick Lobo AWD | 2L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 21 MPG | 30 MPG | 24 MPG | — | $2,550 / yr |
| Maverick Tremor AWD | 2L 4-Cyl | 4-Wheel Drive | Automatic (S8) | 21 MPG | 27 MPG | 23 MPG | — | $2,650 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 Ford Maverick?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 Ford Maverick.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 Ford Maverick models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 Ford Maverick?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2026 Ford Maverick problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 Ford Maverick?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2025-2026 Bronco Sport and Maverick vehicles. The Occupant Classification Sensor (OCS) unit may fail to correctly detect the presence of an adult or child in the front passenger seat. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."
Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2025-2026 Maverick vehicles. The moonroof glass may not have been bonded correctly to the moonroof frame, which could result in the glass panel detaching from the vehicle.
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 Ford Maverick
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 Ford Maverick
How many safety recalls does the 2026 Ford Maverick have?
The 2026 Ford Maverick is associated with 6 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 Ford Maverick?
AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 Ford Maverick.
A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 Ford Maverick?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 Ford Maverick in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 Ford Maverick get?
Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 Ford Maverick range from 23 to 38 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.
Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.