Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2025 Ford Maverick is associated with 47 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 12 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.

The most frequently reported component area is Electrical System, accounting for 4 reports (9% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 5 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2.5L 4-Cyl hybrid and 2l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 23 to 38 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 47 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 12 official campaigns
  • • Primary Defect Domain: Electrical System (4 / 9%)
  • • Field Incident Signals: 5 crash / 2 fire / 2 injury reports
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 23–38 MPG across 5 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2025 Ford Maverick?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Maverick HEV FWD Hybrid 2.5L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 42 MPG 35 MPG 38 MPG — $1,600 / yr
Maverick HEV AWD Hybrid 2.5L 4-Cyl Part-time 4-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 40 MPG 34 MPG 37 MPG — $1,650 / yr
Maverick AWD 2L 4-Cyl Part-time 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 22 MPG 30 MPG 25 MPG — $2,450 / yr
Maverick Lobo AWD 2L 4-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 21 MPG 30 MPG 24 MPG — $2,550 / yr
Maverick Tremor AWD 2L 4-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic (S8) 21 MPG 27 MPG 23 MPG — $2,650 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2025 Ford Maverick?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2025 Ford Maverick.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2025 Ford Maverick models.
View complete 2025 Ford Maverick crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2025 Ford Maverick?

Summary of 47 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
47
Crash Reports
5
Fire Reports
2
Complaints w/ Injury
2
Total Injuries
2

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Electrical System 4 complaints
Forward Collision Avoidance 4 complaints
Service Brakes 4 complaints (1 crash)
POWER TRAIN,ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,ENGINE 3 complaints
Visibility & Wipers 3 complaints

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2025 Ford Maverick problems & component breakdown (28 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2025 Ford Maverick?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V340000 Active Recall
Affected Component: SUSPENSION:FRONT:CONTROL ARM:LOWER BALL JOINT

Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2021-2026 Bronco Sport and 2022-2026 Maverick vehicles. The front lower control arm ball joints may have been incorrectly installed or incorrectly repaired at the vehicle assembly plant, allowing the control arm to disconnect from the front wheel knuckle.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Owners are advised not to drive their vehicles until the remedy is completed. Dealers will inspect and repair the front lower control arm ball joints as necessary, free of charge. Interim letters, notifying owners of the safety risk, were mailed June 4, 2026. Additional letters will be sent once the remedy is available. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26S36. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on May 29, 2026.
NHTSA Campaign #26V239000 Active Recall
Affected Component: EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL:ENGINE BLOCK HEATER

Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2025 Maverick and 2026 Bronco Sport vehicles equipped with a 1.5L or 2.0L MPC engine and an engine block heater. The engine block heater may overheat when the vehicle is parked with the block heater plugged in.

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Owners are advised not to plug in their block heater until the vehicle is remedied. Dealers will replace the block heater, and inspect and replace the electrical cord if necessary, free of charge. Owners will also have an alternative option to replace the engine block heater element with a threaded plug, and remove the block heater electrical cord. Owner notification letters were mailed June 10, 2026. This recall expands previous NHTSA recall number 25V343. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 25S52. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on April 14, 2026.
NHTSA Campaign #26V201000 Active Recall
Affected Component: AIR BAGS:SENSOR:OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION:FRONT PASSENGER

Defect Summary: Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2025-2026 Bronco Sport and Maverick vehicles. The Occupant Classification Sensor (OCS) unit may fail to correctly detect the presence of an adult or child in the front passenger seat. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will replace the passenger seat occupant classification sensor, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed June 25, 2026. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26C19. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on April 2, 2026.
View all 2025 Ford Maverick recalls & campaign history (12 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2025 Ford Maverick

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2025 Ford Maverick

How many safety recalls does the 2025 Ford Maverick have?

The 2025 Ford Maverick is associated with 12 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2025 Ford Maverick?

NHTSA records list 47 consumer defect complaints for the 2025 Ford Maverick. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Electrical System, appearing in 4 filings (9% of submissions).

Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2025 Ford Maverick?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2025 Ford Maverick in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2025 Ford Maverick get?

Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2025 Ford Maverick range from 23 to 38 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.

Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.