Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2026 GMC Terrain has zero owner defect complaints and 1 safety recall campaign on file with NHTSA.

EPA testing covers 10 certified vehicle configurations spanning 3l 6-cyl, 2.7l 4-cyl, 5.3l 8-cyl, 6.2l 8-cyl, and 1.5l 4-cyl configurations. Gasoline and hybrid variants deliver 15 to 27 MPG combined. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 1 official campaign
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
  • • EPA Certified Range: 15–27 MPG across 10 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2026 GMC Terrain?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Sierra Mud Terrain Tires with Sport Mode Diesel 3L 6-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 10-spd 21 MPG 24 MPG 23 MPG — $3,450 / yr
Canyon Mud Terrain Tires 4WD 2.7L 4-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 17 MPG 20 MPG 18 MPG — $3,400 / yr
Sierra Mud Terrain Tires 4WD 2.7L 4-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 16 MPG 17 MPG 17 MPG — $3,600 / yr
Sierra Mud Terrain Tires 4WD FFV 5.3L 8-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 10-spd 15 MPG 19 MPG 17 MPG — $3,600 / yr
Sierra Mud Terrain Tires 4WD (Sport Mode) 5.3L 8-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 10-spd 15 MPG 18 MPG 16 MPG — $3,850 / yr
Sierra Mud Terrain Tires 4WD 5.3L 8-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 10-spd 14 MPG 17 MPG 16 MPG — $3,850 / yr
Sierra Mud Terrain Tires 4WD 6.2L 8-Cyl 4-Wheel Drive Automatic 10-spd 14 MPG 17 MPG 15 MPG — $5,050 / yr
Terrain FWD 1.5L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 26 MPG 28 MPG 27 MPG — $2,300 / yr
Terrain AWD 1.5L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 24 MPG 28 MPG 25 MPG — $2,450 / yr
Terrain AWD Denali/AT4 1.5L 4-Cyl All-Wheel Drive Automatic 8-spd 24 MPG 26 MPG 25 MPG — $2,450 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2026 GMC Terrain?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2026 GMC Terrain.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2026 GMC Terrain models.
View complete 2026 GMC Terrain crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2026 GMC Terrain?

Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
0
Crash Reports
0
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
0
Total Injuries
0

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2026 GMC Terrain problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2026 GMC Terrain?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

NHTSA Campaign #26V114000 Active Recall
Affected Component: EQUIPMENT:OTHER:OWNERS/SERVICE/OTHER MANUAL

Defect Summary: General Motors has decided that certain 2027 Chevrolet Bolt EV, 2025-2026 Cadillac OPTIQ, Chevrolet Colorado, Equinox EV, GMC Canyon, 2026 Buick Enclave, Envision, Cadillac CT5, Escalade, Escalade ESV, Escalade IQ, Escalade IQL, LYRIQ, VISTIQ, Chevrolet Blazer EV, Corvette Convertible, Corvette Coupe, Corvette Convertible E-Ray, Equinox, Silverado 1500, 2500, 3500, Silverado EV, Suburban 1500, Tahoe, Traverse, GMC Acadia, Hummer EV Pickup, Hummer EV SUV, Sierra 1500, 2500, 3500, Sierra EV, Terrain, Yukon, and Yukon XL vehicles. The radio may not have been set to the correct status to download the electronic owner's manual during production. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, “Occupant Protection.”

Free Manufacturer Remedy: Dealers will reset the vehicle radio, which will facilitate automatic download of the electronic owner’s manual, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed April 16, 2026. Owners may contact GM customer service at 1-866-467-9700, Chevrolet customer service at 1-800-222-1020 or Cadillac customer service at 1-800-333-4223. The manufacturer's number for this recall is N252540430. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on February 26, 2026.
View all 2026 GMC Terrain recalls & campaign history (1 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2026 GMC Terrain

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2026 GMC Terrain

How many safety recalls does the 2026 GMC Terrain have?

The 2026 GMC Terrain is associated with 1 official NHTSA safety recall campaign in AutoUtility's current federal records.

If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2026 GMC Terrain?

AutoUtility currently records zero consumer defect complaints on file with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI) for the 2026 GMC Terrain.

A zero-complaint record in federal databases reflects submitted owner filings and does not guarantee the absence of mechanical issues.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2026 GMC Terrain?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2026 GMC Terrain in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What fuel economy (MPG) does the 2026 GMC Terrain get?

Official EPA laboratory estimates for the 2026 GMC Terrain range from 15 to 27 MPG combined (55% city / 45% highway weighted) depending on engine, transmission, and drivetrain configuration.

Using AutoUtility's standardized operating cost model (15,000 miles/year, $3.50/gal gas, $0.16/kWh electricity), annual energy expenditures range across certified configurations based on official EPA laboratory test baselines.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.