Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2024 Model S, 2015-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, and 2020-2023 Model Y vehicles. In the event of an unbelted driver, the seat belt warning light and audible chime may not activate as intended. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."
The 2019 Tesla Model X has zero owner defect complaints and 8 safety recall campaigns on file with NHTSA. EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 79 to 96 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 238–325 miles across 5 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 0 reports
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 8 campaigns
- • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Efficiency: 79–96 MPGe (5 variants)
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2019 Tesla Model X?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model X Long Range 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 99 MPGe | 93 MPGe | 96 MPGe | 325 mi | $800 / yr |
| Model X 75D 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 91 MPGe | 95 MPGe | 93 MPGe | 238 mi | $800 / yr |
| Model X 100D 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 86 MPGe | 89 MPGe | 87 MPGe | 295 mi | $850 / yr |
| Model X P100D 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 83 MPGe | 89 MPGe | 85 MPGe | 289 mi | $900 / yr |
| Model X Performance (22in Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 80 MPGe | 77 MPGe | 79 MPGe | 270 mi | $950 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2019 Tesla Model X?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2019 Tesla Model X.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2019 Tesla Model X models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2019 Tesla Model X?
Summary of 0 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2019 Tesla Model X problems & component breakdown (0 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2019 Tesla Model X?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2023 Model S, 2016-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, 2019-2024 Model Y, and 2024 Cybertruck vehicles. An incorrect font size is displayed on the instrument panel for the Brake, Park, and Antilock Brake System (ABS) warning lights. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 105, "Hydraulic and Electric Brake Systems" and 135, "Light Vehicle Brake Systems."
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling 2012-2023 Model S, 2016-2023 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, and 2020-2023 Model Y vehicles equipped with all versions of Autosteer leading up to the version(s) that contains the recall remedy. In certain circumstances when Autosteer is engaged, the prominence and scope of the feature's controls may not be sufficient to prevent driver misuse of the SAE Level 2 advanced driver-assistance feature.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.