Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2024 Model S, 2015-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, and 2020-2023 Model Y vehicles. In the event of an unbelted driver, the seat belt warning light and audible chime may not activate as intended. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2020 Tesla Model X is associated with 124 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 10 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is Suspension, accounting for 22 reports (18% of total complaints). EPA records certify all-electric efficiency of 79 to 105 MPGe with an estimated driving range of 258–351 miles across 5 certified vehicle configurations. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 124 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 10 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: Suspension (22 / 18%)
- • Field Incident Signals: 17 crash / 0 fire / 5 injury reports
- • NCAP Crash Safety: Not rated by NHTSA
- • EPA Certified Range: 79 MPGe across 5 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2020 Tesla Model X?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model X Long Range Plus 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 108 MPGe | 101 MPGe | 105 MPGe | 351 mi | $700 / yr |
| Model X Standard Range 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 105 MPGe | 98 MPGe | 101 MPGe | 258 mi | $750 / yr |
| Model X Long Range 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 99 MPGe | 93 MPGe | 96 MPGe | 328 mi | $800 / yr |
| Model X Performance (20in Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 90 MPGe | 89 MPGe | 90 MPGe | 305 mi | $850 / yr |
| Model X Performance (22in Wheels) 100% Electric | Electric Motor | All-Wheel Drive | Automatic (A1) | 80 MPGe | 77 MPGe | 79 MPGe | 272 mi | $950 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2020 Tesla Model X?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2020 Tesla Model X.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2020 Tesla Model X models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2020 Tesla Model X?
Summary of 124 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2020 Tesla Model X problems & component breakdown (60 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2020 Tesla Model X?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2013, 2018-2021 Model S, 2020-2021 Model X, 2018-2022 Model 3, and 2020-2022 Model Y vehicles. A factory reset muted the Pedestrian Warning System (PWS) sounds. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 141, "Minimum Sound Requirements for Hybrid and Electric Vehicles."
Defect Summary: Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2012-2023 Model S, 2016-2024 Model X, 2017-2023 Model 3, 2019-2024 Model Y, and 2024 Cybertruck vehicles. An incorrect font size is displayed on the instrument panel for the Brake, Park, and Antilock Brake System (ABS) warning lights. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 105, "Hydraulic and Electric Brake Systems" and 135, "Light Vehicle Brake Systems."
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2020 Tesla Model X
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2020 Tesla Model X
How many safety recalls does the 2020 Tesla Model X have?
The 2020 Tesla Model X is associated with 10 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2020 Tesla Model X?
NHTSA records list 124 consumer defect complaints for the 2020 Tesla Model X. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is Suspension, appearing in 22 filings (18% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2020 Tesla Model X?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2020 Tesla Model X in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What is the electric driving range of the 2020 Tesla Model X?
The all-electric 2020 Tesla Model X is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 258 to 351 miles per full charge across certified configurations.
Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 105 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.