The 2017 Toyota Prius Prime has 143 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and zero open safety recall campaigns recorded in the federal database. The most frequently reported component area is Visibility & Wipers, accounting for 26 reports (18% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 1 certified vehicle configuration spanning 1.8L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid powertrain configurations. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 133 MPGe (54 MPG on gasoline) with up to 25 miles of electric driving range. Detailed NHTSA crash-test ratings are not available in the current AutoUtility dataset for this model year.

Key Data Findings
  • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 143 reports
  • Safety Recall Campaigns: 0 campaigns
  • Top Reported Defect Area: Visibility & Wipers (26 / 18%)
  • Safety Incident Signals: 20 crash / 2 fire / 9 injury reports
  • NHTSA Overall Safety Rating: Not rated by NHTSA
  • EPA Efficiency: null MPGe (1 variant • PHEV up to 133 MPGe)
Data Note: Compiled directly from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.
Fuel Economy
1 EPA certified variant (1.8L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid powertrain configurations)
Reported Complaints
143
143 submitted owner reports
Safety Recalls
0
0 open safety recalls
NCAP Safety Rating
Not rated by NHTSA

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Prius Prime Plug-in Hybrid 1.8L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 145 MPGe (55 MPG) 121 MPGe (53 MPG) 133 MPGe (54 MPG) 25 mi EV (640 mi total) $1,150 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2017 Toyota Prius Prime provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 25 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2017 Toyota Prius Prime models.
View complete 2017 Toyota Prius Prime crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Summary of 143 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
143
Crash Reports
20
Fire Reports
2
Complaints w/ Injury
9
Total Injuries
10

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

Visibility & Wipers 26 complaints
Service Brakes 9 complaints (1 crash)
Electrical System 7 complaints
Structure & Body 7 complaints
Engine 6 complaints

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2017 Toyota Prius Prime problems & component breakdown (56 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

No open safety recall campaigns are currently on file with NHTSA for the 2017 Toyota Prius Prime.

View all 2017 Toyota Prius Prime recalls & campaign history (0 campaigns) →
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.