Research Another Vehicle

Executive Vehicle Verdict

The 2021 Toyota Prius Prime has 10 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and zero open safety recall campaigns recorded in the federal database.

The most frequently reported component area is AIR BAGS,SERVICE BRAKES,ENGINE, accounting for 1 reports (10% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 1 certified vehicle configuration spanning 1.8L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid powertrain configurations. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 133 MPGe (54 MPG on gasoline) with up to 25 miles of electric driving range.

Official Federal Record Profile
  • • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 10 consumer reports filed
  • • Safety Recall Campaigns: 0 official campaigns
  • • Primary Defect Domain: AIR BAGS,SERVICE BRAKES,ENGINE (1 / 10%)
  • • Field Incident Signals: 4 crash / 0 fire / 1 injury reports
  • • NCAP Crash Safety: 5 / 5 Stars Overall Laboratory Score
  • • EPA Certified Range: null MPGe across 1 powertrain trims
Directly compiled from official NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI), NHTSA NCAP, and EPA FuelEconomy.gov databases.

What is the fuel economy and range of the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime?

Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant

Variant Engine Drivetrain Transmission City Highway Combined EV Range Est. Annual Fuel Cost
Prius Prime Plug-in Hybrid 1.8L 4-Cyl Front-Wheel Drive Automatic (variable gear ratios) 145 MPGe (55 MPG) 121 MPGe (53 MPG) 133 MPGe (54 MPG) 25 mi EV (640 mi total) $1,150 / yr
Data Boundary Note: EPA specifications are shown by certified vehicle configuration. NHTSA complaints and recall totals are recorded at the model-year level across all configurations.
Electric Range & Charging: The 2021 Toyota Prius Prime provides an official EPA-rated driving range of up to 25 miles on a single battery charge.

What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime?

Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime.

Active Driver Assistance Systems (NHTSA Recorded): Forward Collision Warning (FCW) is documented as Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2021 Toyota Prius Prime models.
View complete 2021 Toyota Prius Prime crash test & safety breakdown →

What defect complaints are reported for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime?

Summary of 10 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Total Complaints
10
Crash Reports
4
Fire Reports
0
Complaints w/ Injury
1
Total Injuries
2

Top Reported Problem Categories

Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA

AIR BAGS,SERVICE BRAKES,ENGINE 1 complaint (1 crash)
Back Over Prevention / Camera 1 complaint
Electrical System 1 complaint
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM,SERVICE BRAKES,FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM 1 complaint (1 crash)
Forward Collision Avoidance 1 complaint (1 crash)

Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.

View all 2021 Toyota Prius Prime problems & component breakdown (10 categories) →

Are there open safety recalls on the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime?

Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA

No open safety recall campaigns are currently on file with NHTSA for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime.

View all 2021 Toyota Prius Prime recalls & campaign history (0 campaigns) →
Search Intelligence

Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime

Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime

How many safety recalls does the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime have?

AutoUtility's current federal dataset records zero official NHTSA safety recall campaigns for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime.

Recall records can change as manufacturers and NHTSA publish or update campaign notices.

Source: NHTSA Safety Recalls Database (49 U.S.C. 30118)

What are the most common problems reported for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime?

NHTSA records list 10 consumer defect complaints for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is AIR BAGS,SERVICE BRAKES,ENGINE, appearing in 1 filings (10% of submissions).

Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.

Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)

Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime?

An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.

NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.

Source: NHTSA NCAP Registry

What is the electric driving range of the 2021 Toyota Prius Prime?

The all-electric 2021 Toyota Prius Prime is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 25 miles per full charge across certified configurations.

Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 54 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.

Source: EPA FuelEconomy.gov Certified Database
Official US Government Data Provenance

The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:

  • NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
  • NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
  • U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.

Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.