Defect Summary: Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2023-2024 Prius Prime, 2023-2026 Prius, and 2025-2026 Prius Plug-in Hybrid vehicles. Water may enter the rear door switch and cause a short circuit, allowing an unlocked rear door to open unexpectedly.
Research Another Vehicle
Executive Vehicle Verdict
The 2023 Toyota Prius Prime is associated with 5 official NHTSA owner defect complaints and 4 safety recall campaigns in the federal safety database.
The most frequently reported component area is POWER TRAIN,ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, accounting for 2 reports (40% of total complaints). EPA testing covers 2 certified vehicle configurations spanning 2L 4-Cyl plug-in hybrid powertrain configurations. Plug-in hybrid variants are rated up to 127 MPGe (48–52 MPG on gasoline) with up to 45 miles of electric driving range.
- • NHTSA Owner Complaints: 5 consumer reports filed
- • Safety Recall Campaigns: 4 official campaigns
- • Primary Defect Domain: POWER TRAIN,ELECTRICAL SYSTEM (2 / 40%)
- • NCAP Crash Safety: 5 / 5 Stars Overall Laboratory Score
- • EPA Certified Range: null MPGe across 2 powertrain trims
What is the fuel economy and range of the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime?
Official EPA laboratory test ratings, electric driving range, and annual energy cost estimates by certified vehicle variant
| Variant | Engine | Drivetrain | Transmission | City | Highway | Combined | EV Range | Est. Annual Fuel Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prius Prime SE Plug-in Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (variable gear ratios) | 140 MPGe (53 MPG) | 115 MPGe (51 MPG) | 127 MPGe (52 MPG) | 45 mi EV (600 mi total) | $1,200 / yr |
| Prius Prime Plug-in Hybrid | 2L 4-Cyl | Front-Wheel Drive | Automatic (variable gear ratios) | 125 MPGe (50 MPG) | 103 MPGe (47 MPG) | 114 MPGe (48 MPG) | 40 mi EV (550 mi total) | $1,300 / yr |
What are the crash test safety ratings for the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime?
Official 5-Star Safety Ratings evaluated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
NHTSA 5-Star NCAP laboratory crash evaluations are not currently on file for the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime.
Not Specified and Lane Departure Warning (LDW) is documented as Not Specified in official NHTSA records for tested 2023 Toyota Prius Prime models.
What defect complaints are reported for the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime?
Summary of 5 verified consumer defect submissions filed with the NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI)
Top Reported Problem Categories
Ranked by total consumer complaint submissions recorded by NHTSA
Data Attribution & Context: Complaints are self-reported by vehicle owners to NHTSA and represent unverified consumer submissions. Complaint volume does not equal a statistically controlled failure rate and is not adjusted for total vehicles sold or cumulative mileage driven.
View all 2023 Toyota Prius Prime problems & component breakdown (4 categories) →Are there open safety recalls on the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime?
Manufacturer safety recall campaigns monitored and recorded by NHTSA
Defect Summary: Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing (Toyota) is recalling certain 2022-2026 Toyota, Lexus, and Subaru Solterra vehicles equipped with a Panoramic View Monitor (PVM) system. Please see the recall report for a complete list of models. A software error may cause the rearview camera to freeze or display a blank screen when the vehicle is in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 111, "Rear Visibility."
Defect Summary: Gulf States Toyota, Inc. (GST) is recalling certain Toyota 2023 GR Supra, 2024 4 Runner, Corolla, Grand Highlander, Grand Highlander Hybrid, Land Cruiser Hybrid, Tacoma, Tacoma Hybrid, 2023-2024 BZ4X, Corolla Cross Hybrid, GR Corolla, GR86, Highlander, Highlander Hybrid, Prius, Prius Prime, Sequoia Hybrid, Tundra, Tundra Hybrid, Venza Hybrid, 2023-2025 Crown, and 2025 Camry Hybrid vehicles equipped with GST accessories. The load carrying capacity modification label may display inaccurate added weight values. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 110, "Tire Selection and Rims."
Quick Answers: Key Questions Drivers Ask About the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime
Direct, deterministic answers synthesized from verified United States government databases for the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime
How many safety recalls does the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime have?
The 2023 Toyota Prius Prime is associated with 4 official NHTSA safety recall campaigns in AutoUtility's current federal records.
If your individual vehicle is affected by an open safety recall, NHTSA advises owners to contact an authorized franchised dealership for the recall remedy at no charge. Because recall campaigns apply to specific production runs and equipment batches, vehicle owners should verify their 17-digit VIN at NHTSA.gov.
What are the most common problems reported for the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime?
NHTSA records list 5 consumer defect complaints for the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime. The most frequently referenced vehicle system is POWER TRAIN,ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, appearing in 2 filings (40% of submissions).
Consumer complaints represent unverified owner submissions filed under federal reporting guidelines and describe reported component behavior rather than audited failure rates.
Is there an official NHTSA crash safety rating for the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime?
An official NHTSA 5-Star NCAP crash test rating is not available for the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime in AutoUtility's current federal dataset.
NHTSA publishes crash safety evaluations for a selected sample of passenger vehicles each model year. Consult NHTSA.gov for active safety equipment records and vehicle safety bulletins.
What is the electric driving range of the 2023 Toyota Prius Prime?
The all-electric 2023 Toyota Prius Prime is EPA-certified for an estimated driving range of 40 to 45 miles per full charge across certified configurations.
Official EPA combined efficiency ratings reach up to 52 MPGe based on standardized dynamometer laboratory testing.
The specifications, safety ratings, defect reports, and recall campaigns published on this page are retrieved directly from official United States Government agency databases:
- NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation (ODI): Consumer complaints and defect reports.
- NHTSA New Car Assessment Program (NCAP): Frontal, side, and rollover 5-Star crash safety test ratings.
- U.S. EPA / FuelEconomy.gov: Standardized multi-cycle dynamometer fuel economy, MPGe, and electric driving range ratings.
Local Production Store Compiled: August 2026 • Deterministic Audited Dataset • Zero Dynamic External API Runtime Latency.